Common Misdemeanor Charges in Chandler
Getting convicted of a misdemeanor offense in Chandler can come with harsh penalties. It is a common misconception that misdemeanor charges are not severe charges. While it is true that the consequences of a misdemeanor charge may be mitigated, the court has the discretion to sentence a person to serve up to 6 months in jail if convicted of a class one misdemeanor—plus crippling fines. If you are charged with a misdemeanor while in the City of Chandler, you will likely go through the criminal justice system in the Chandler Municipal Court and be prosecuted by a City of Chandler Prosecutor. This means that it is likely that your set court dates will be wholly in the Chandler Municipal Court.
The most common misdemeanor charges our office see arise out of Chandler by far are DUI related charges. Other common misdemeanor charges our office sees arise out of Chandler, Arizona and has defended thousands of clients against are:
- Urinating in Public Offense
- Criminal Trespassing
- Criminal Damage Charges
- Disorderly Conduct Offense
- False Reporting
- Resisting Arrest
Avoid Harsh Penalties from a Misdemeanor Charge in Chandler
Many people make the mistake of not taking these charges seriously until it is too late. The punishments and elements of these misdemeanor crimes vary, as do their defenses. It is crucial to have an experienced and knowledgeable attorney to review your case and find the best possible defenses and options for you. If you don’t seek legal counsel, it might result in a misdemeanor record that comes back to haunt you later. Our legal team here at Rosenstein Law Group is experienced in misdemeanor cases that have been charged in Chandler, we will work on your misdemeanor case, explain the possible consequences, and help you choose the best course. Contact our office today at 480-248-7666 to schedule your free initial consultation with a skilled criminal defense attorney.
Types of Misdemeanor Crimes in Arizona
In Arizona, there are 3 classes of misdemeanors. Oddly enough, some laws in the Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) create misdemeanor crimes but do not specify which class of misdemeanor the crime is. In these cases, the crime is a class 2 misdemeanor by default, according to ARS § 13-602(B). Penalties for misdemeanor convictions can vary, and the maximum penalties are as follows:
Class 1 Misdemeanor Maximums
- 6 months of jail
- $2,500 fine (plus an 83% surcharge)
- 3 years of probation
Class 2 Misdemeanor Maximums
- 4 months in jail
- $750 fine (plus an 83% surcharge)
- 2 years of probation
Class 3 Misdemeanor Maximums
- 1-month jail
- $500 (plus 83% surcharge)
- 1 year of probation
One of the most common misdemeanor crimes that our office encounters are DUI Charges, which are generally class 1 misdemeanor charges. Given the complexities of DUI charges, our website goes into meticulous detail regarding the various DUI charges that can be filed against an individual in Arizona. Here, we are going to take some time to outline some of the other standard misdemeanor charges that we often see individuals charged within Chandler. One important thing to keep in mind, and we will go into this in more detail below, is that a charge can have both felony and misdemeanor charges. This means that, for example, one person could be charged with criminal trespass as a class 1 misdemeanor, and another person could be charged with criminal trespass as a class 5 felony.
Protect Your Rights
- 1. We have defended hundreds of clients.
- 2. We have a successful track record.
- 3. We care about your future.
CLIENT THANK YOUS
“Craig is my hero and he saved my career and my future. I got stopped in Tempe and was charged with a regular DUI. Craig questioned the validity of the stop and was able to get it reduced to a reckless driving charge…”
“Dear Mr. Rosenstein, Having talked to you this day, I determined that you were right in your decision on my case. I appreciate and thank you…”
Thank you again for helping settle this matter for me. I appreciate all you guys did on my behalf…”