Chandler DUI Defense Lawyer

If you have been arrested for a drunk driving offense in Chandler or anywhere in Arizona, be sure that you have an experienced criminal defense lawyer who cares as much about the outcome of your case as you do. The consequences for even a first offense misdemeanor DUI can be devastating, and having the right attorney behind you can help to ensure that your interests are protected.

At Rosenstein Law Group, our DUI defense attorneys provide aggressive defense representation to clients throughout Southern Arizona who have been accused of any type of drunk driving offense. Once the police make a decision to stop you for impaired driving, they are looking for signs to support their theory. Arrests have been made on the thinnest of cases, and prosecutors are more than happy to move forward with them.

Do not allow yourself to be pressured into a guilty plea. Many of our clients have ended up with a DUI conviction on their records without ever seeking legal advice. Our founding attorney, Craig Rosenstein, is board-certified in DUI defense by the National College for DUI Defense, the only organization recognized by the American Bar Association to award such a distinction. He knows how to analyze the prosecution’s evidence and build a compelling defense on your behalf. It is vitally important for you to understand that there is no evidence in a DUI case that our skilled lawyers cannot fight.

Results-Oriented Representation

Whether you are being charged with a DUI accident, multiple DUI or first-time DUI, our firm can provide you with skillful representation necessary to fight for your rights and freedom. You could face serious penalties for a DUI conviction. Depending on the crime with which you are charged, you could face extensive jail time, fines, probation and other penalties. The minimum jail sentence for a first DUI conviction is 10 days; the maximum is six months.

At Rosenstein Law Group, our attorneys have over 100 years of combined legal experience. We have handled all types of DUI cases in Chandler and throughout Arizona. Our law firm has what it takes to protect you as much as possible from a DUI conviction and related penalties. We will give your case our undivided attention. Our history of success showcases our commitment to clients and our capabilities in and out of court.

How Our Firm Can Help You

If a police officer suspects that you are driving while intoxicated, you may be asked to perform a field sobriety test. It is crucial for you to understand the nature of these tests. They are not pass or fail tests; they are designed to gather evidence to support a DUI charge and conviction. It is important for you to know that you have the constitutional right to refuse to perform these tests and you cannot be penalized for this. If you do agree to the test and are charged with DUI, our firm can help you. If you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident when alcohol is involved, you could be charged with a felony. If this accident resulted in vehicular manslaughter or aggravated assault charges, the penalties can be much more severe.

There is a no tolerance law in Arizona. This means that if you are under the age of 21 and any trace of alcohol or drug is found in your system, you could be charged with DUI. At our firm, we offer skillful and aggressive representation for our clients. We have a long history of success and many satisfied clients. If you are facing DUI charges, you need our skillful representation.

Arizona’s DUI Laws

Defending yourself against DUI charges requires an understanding of Arizona’s DUI laws. At Rosenstein Law Group, we can explain all of the state’s driving under the influence statutes that apply to your particular situation. Then, we can use our in-depth knowledge of the law to fight to reduce the charges against you and the potential penalties that you face as much as possible. Arizona recognizes multiple types of DUIs, depending on the circumstances:

  • DUI (A.R.S. 28-1381): driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drug, vapor-releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination thereof. A blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at or above 0.08 percent is presumed intoxication in Arizona, but you could be found guilty of this crime even with a lesser BAC.
  • Underage DUI (A.R.S. 4-244(34)): Arizona’s zero tolerance law – also called the “not a drop” law – bans underage drinking and driving to any degree. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21 in Arizona and are found to have any discernible BAC level during a traffic stop, you could be charged with an underage DUI. 
  • Extreme and super extreme DUI (A.R.S. 28-1382): driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.15 to 0.20 (extreme DUI) or 0.20 or more (super extreme DUI). The penalties for these crimes are enhanced compared to a standard DUI crime and can include a sentence of no less than 45 days in jail.
  • Aggravated DUI (A.R.S. 28-1383): driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs, plus aggravating circumstances such as driving on a suspended or revoked license, driving with a person under the age of 15 in the vehicle, causing a car accident with bodily injuries, or being a repeat offender.

Arizona’s DUI laws emphasize the fact that an individual can be found guilty of driving under the influence even if he or she was not technically driving. Being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle can be enough to lead to a DUI. In Arizona, you could get charged with a DUI within two hours of operating a motor vehicle if your BAC is still above the legal limit. 

Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Arizona

Arizona takes DUI crimes very seriously. In an effort to discourage drunk driving and prevent repeat offenders, the state has strict penalties for DUI convictions. The potential consequences that you could face as a defendant depend on the circumstances of your case, including whether there are aggravating factors involved or if you have a prior criminal record.

The general penalties when charged with a DUI in Chandler are as follows:

  • First offense: a $250 base fine (plus extensive fees and surcharges), a minimum of 24 hours up to 10 days in jail, 90 days to 1 year of driver’s license suspension, and an ignition interlock device.
  • Second offense: a $500 base fine (plus extensive fees and surcharges), a minimum of 30 days up to 90 days in jail, one year of driver’s license suspension, and an ignition interlock device.
  • Third or subsequent offense: a $750 base fine (plus extensive fees and surcharges), a minimum of four months in jail, one year of driver’s license suspension, and an ignition interlock device.

If you refuse to take a Breathalyzer, urine or chemical test during a DUI stop, you will most likely have your driver’s license suspended for 12 months. This is the standard under Arizona’s implied consent law, which states that all motor vehicle drivers give their implied consent to submit to DUI tests when they receive their driver’s licenses. Even if you are not convicted of a DUI, the suspension of your driver’s license will remain.

Extreme, Super Extreme and Aggravated DUI Penalties

The penalties for a DUI conviction in Arizona are increased for extreme, super extreme and aggravated charges. An extreme DUI will come with no less than 30 days in jail with no eligibility for probation or a suspended sentence, as well as a fine of no less than $2,500. A second or subsequent extreme DUI can result in a minimum of 120 days in jail and a fine of $3,250. 

The penalties for a super extreme DUI include a minimum of 45 days in jail for a first offense (up to 180 days), as well as more than $3,000 in fines and up to five years of probation. Finally, an aggravated DUI can result in a presumptive sentence of 1.75 years in prison, 10 years of probation, the forfeiture of your motor vehicle, license revocation for 3 years, an ignition interlock device for up to 10 years once your license is reinstated and fines of up to $150,000.

Potential DUI Defenses

The right defense strategy for your specific case can make an enormous difference to its outcome. Planning your defense with assistance from a knowledgeable attorney can improve your chances of the case being dismissed or reaching an acquittal (not-guilty verdict). If this isn’t possible, your attorney can still negotiate on your behalf for reduced charges and penalties using a smart defense strategy.

Potential DUI defense options may include: 

  • You were not under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • You were not in actual physical control of a motor vehicle
  • Inaccurate blood alcohol test results
  • Unreliable field sobriety test used
  • Insufficient evidence of DUI
  • Police misconduct or civil rights violations
  • No probable cause to conduct the traffic stop
  • Illegal search and seizure

The attorneys at Rosenstein Law Group have years of experience successfully defending clients against DUI charges. We can handle all types of DUI cases in Chandler, including both alcohol and drug DUIs. Your lawyer will customize your DUI defense based on your unique situation, including your criminal record and the evidence the prosecution has against you. Working with a skilled Chandler DUI defense attorney can help you protect your future as much as possible after being arrested for DUI.

What to Do if You’ve Been Arrested for a DUI in Chandler

Getting arrested for driving under the influence in Chandler can be a nerve-wracking and frustrating experience. However, it is important for your future to try to remember to take certain steps during your arrest: 

  1. Do not admit to having consumed alcohol or drugs in any capacity.
  2. Use your right to remain silent; the only information you are legally required to give is your name.
  3. Do not refuse a breathalyzer or chemical test, but do refuse a field sobriety test.
  4. Do not resist arrest if you are taken into custody.
  5. Use your one phone call at the police precinct to contact a Chandler DUI defense attorney.
  6. Request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest to fight your driver’s license suspension.
  7. Do not plead guilty at your arraignment hearing.

Most importantly, do not face driving under the influence charges on your own – hire an experienced DUI lawyer for assistance as soon as possible. A lawyer can take over your case from the very beginning to help you fight against a DUI conviction.

Free Consultation — Get Legal Help Today

Contact Rosenstein Law Group today to discuss your case and retain the legal representation you need. Call us at 480-248-7666 to schedule a free initial consultation with an attorney. We have offices in Scottsdale, Phoenix, Mesa, Tempe and Gilbert to serve you.