Minor in Possession/Consumption of Alcohol Lawyer – Chandler

Arizona state law forbids under the age of 21 to have alcohol in their system, regardless of the amount. The law is strict when it comes to underage drinking. Under the law in Arizona, you don’t have to be impaired by alcohol. By simply having alcohol in your system is adequate to be charged and possibly convicted.

Charged with An Under-21 Alcohol Offense?

The attorney you hire for your defense and the steps you take together can help you protect your future, whether this is your first encounter with the law or if you have a previous arrest record. Rosenstein Law Group has defended many underage clients of Chandler, Arizona, and the Phoenix metro area. For a free consultation, contact us online here or call 480-248-7666.

Underage Drinking Laws in the City of Chandler, Arizona

It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to have any amount of liquor in their system or to purchase alcohol. There may be a few exceptions for alcohol consumption, such as medicinal purposes or religious ceremonies.

Types of Underage Alcohol-Related Crimes

There are several types of underage alcohol-related crimes. Here are some of the most common ones:

  • Purchase of alcohol
  • Possession of alcohol
  • Minor in consumption (having alcohol in their system)
  • Using or in possession of a fake ID
  • Driving with any alcohol in their system

Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP)

Minor in possession is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor in Chandler, Arizona. In Arizona, it’s against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to be in possession of alcohol. Even if the alcohol has not been opened, you can still be charged and prosecuted.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol: What You Need to Know

There are multiple types of possession charges. A constructive possession charge happens when you knowingly had control over the alcohol, whether it was with another individual or you acted alone. An actual possession charge occurs when you knowingly had physical control of the alcohol. For instance, alcohol might have been found in your bag, hand, or clothing.

*Note: It is not illegal for someone under 21 to help someone else whom is over 21 to shop in a store, i.e., it is okay for the minor to put alcohol into a shopping cart or carry the alcohol to the counter for someone who is over 21 to purchase, as long as the person over 21 is the one who actually buys it, but the minor cannot be alone with it in their possession outside of the store. 

Consequences to Minor in Possession of Alcohol Charges

In Chandler, Arizona, some of the consequences to Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) charges include:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • A maximum fine of $2,500
  • Up to three years of probation
  • Alcohol classes and counseling
  • A criminal conviction on your record

Minor in Consumption of Alcohol (Underage Consumption)

Minor in consumption of alcohol is classified as a class 2 misdemeanor in Chandler, Arizona. It’s unlawful in Arizona for anyone under 21 years of age to drink alcohol, even if it’s just a sip.

What are the Consequences to Minor in Consumption of Alcohol Charges?

In the state of Arizona, so, therefore, in the city of Chandler, anyone under the age of 21 who consumes alcohol can be charged with a “minor in the consumption of alcohol.” There are several consequences for this charge, including:

  • Up to 120 days in jail
  • Fines over $1,000
  • Mandatory alcohol abuse classes
  • Probation
  • A driver’s license suspension
  • A criminal conviction on your record

Fake ID

In Chandler, Arizona, obtaining or attempting to obtain alcohol using a fake ID is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor. You could face two separate charges–one for consuming or possessing alcohol and the other for the fake ID. You could face the consequences, such as:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • A maximum fine of $2,500
  • Up to three years of probation
  • Driver’s license suspension

Defending Against These Charges

Underage drinking is taken very seriously in Arizona, and you could face stiff punishments. Your career prospects and livelihood can be put in jeopardy. If you face any underage drinking charges in Chandler, Arizona, hiring an experienced DUI lawyer is the best way to understand your rights and the options that fit your situation. Your attorney will work diligently to achieve the best possible outcome in your case.

Protect Your Future: Contact a Defense Lawyer Now

Having any criminal conviction on your record can influence your future. With more employers and universities running background checks, there is a strong possibility that the offense may be discovered-thereby limiting your job and educational opportunities.

Contact a qualified Chandler criminal lawyer right away if you face any type of underage drinking crime in Arizona. Our criminal lawyers have the experience and expertise needed to help in underage alcohol-related cases. Do not wait. When your rights are on the line, let us fight for you. Contact the Chandler criminal defense lawyers from Rosenstein Law Group today! Available 24/7 by calling (480) 248-7666.


  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.