Chandler Prescription Drug DUI Lawyer

Contrary to popular opinion, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Chandler after taking certain prescription drugs. Drugged driving after downing even a single prescription medication has the potential to change your life for the worse. A Chandler prescription drug DUI lawyer can help you navigate the complex legal situation and fight for your rights.

Have You Been Charged with Prescription Drug DUI?

Have you been charged with a DUI involving prescription drugs in Chandler, Arizona? If so, Rosenstein Law Group is ready to help defend you. Contact Rosenstein Law Group today to set up your free consultation. Fill out a contact form online or call our office 24/7 at (480) 248-7666.

Chandler Prescription Drug DUI’s

Let’s take a closer look at DUI prescription drug charges in Chandler, AZ. Drugged driving is when an individual drives an automobile while under the influence of a legal or illegal drug. From driving while high on marijuana to driving after a bump of cocaine and even driving after taking certain legal prescription medications, drugged driving DUIs are quite expansive in scope. The bottom line is if the drug in question caused your impairment while behind the wheel, you will face a Chandler prescription drug DUI charge. Such impaired driving is detailed in Arizona Statutes A.R.S. §28-1381(A)(1) and A.R.S. §28-1381(A)(3).

The Penalties for a Chandler Prescription Drug DUI

Most people are surprised to learn the penalties tied to drugged driving in Chandler are similar to regular DUI convictions in which the driver operated a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol. First-time drugged DUI convictions carry a maximum jail sentence of six months. First-time DUI RX charges are Class 1 misdemeanors. Furthermore, the convicted driver will also be forced to undergo drug screenings and a drug treatment program. Making matters worse is the driver can be fined $2,500 plus surcharges. It is also possible for first-time drugged driving offenders in Chandler to face up to five years of probation.

The Penalties for Repeat Drugged DUI Offenders in Chandler, AZ

A repeat drugged DUI offender in Chandler who has had a prior conviction for the same offense within the past seven years carries a minimum jail sentence of 30 days, 5-years’ probation, and also enrolls in a drug screening and drug treatment program. Anyone convicted of drugged DUI, regardless of whether it is their first offense or a subsequent offense, will also face a 90-day driver’s license suspension for the former and a 1-year revocation for the latter.

What to do if Charged with Drugged Driving in Chandler, Arizona

If you are charged with drugged driving in or near Chandler, Arizona, you should know this is not a time to be self-reliant. An attempt to represent yourself in a Chandler court of law in a pro se manner carries significant risk. There may have been a procedural, statutory, or constitutional violation in your case that can easily be overlooked without the eyes of a trained criminal defense attorney. Instead, reach out to an experienced Chandler DUI defense attorney. Your attorney will analyze the unique facts of your case and develop the best possible defense strategy to clear your name and minimize or even eliminating potential penalties.

Fighting Your Prescription Drug DUI

There is a chance the police officer who performed the arrest lacked reasonable suspicion to pull you over. Perhaps your field sobriety test and/or blood test were not administered properly. Let your attorney handle the legal aspect of your drugged DUI charge, and you will be empowered to return your focus to your job, your family, and getting the most out of life.

Hiring the Right Chandler DUI Attorney

If you were recently arrested for driving under the influence of prescription medication in Arizona, Rosenstein Law Group would help with preparing a smart defense against your charges. Well known throughout the Arizona legal community for their proven track record, our Chandler DUI defense attorneys have extensive knowledge of the tests used in impaired driving cases and will put their ability to work for you. For a free, no-obligation consultation with one of our experienced DUI attorneys, contact us online here or call us at (480) 248-7666.


  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.