Tempe Underage DUI Attorney

If you are under 21 and have been charged with drinking and driving in Tempe or elsewhere in Maricopa County, you need a Tempe underage DUI attorney who provides aggressive DUI defense strategies for minors. Rosenstein Law Group zealously represents underage drivers throughout southern Arizona who have been charged with minor DUI in Tempe, AZ or a traditional DUI.

“Minor DUI” refers to Arizona’s laws that prohibit underage drivers from driving with any blood alcohol content (BAC) at all. “Traditional DUI” means that your BAC was .08 or higher, the same level that brings about DUI charges for adult drivers.

Why Choose Us?

  • We provide aggressive criminal and DUI defense representation in Tempe. Our attorneys have obtained positive results for many former DUI clients using strategic defense strategies.
  • We are highly knowledgeable DUI defense lawyers in Scottsdale, with more than 100 years of combined legal experience among our attorneys.
  • Our attorneys never take underage DUI charges lightly. We will work relentlessly to achieve the best possible results for you or your child’s criminal defense case.

Tempe Underage DUI Defense Lawyer

How a Tempe Underage DUI Attorney Can Help

An underage DUI charge can change a defendant’s life. At Rosenstein Law Group, we understand that young people make mistakes. We are committed to helping our clients minimize the effect that these mistakes have on their lives and futures. We customize our defense strategies to pursue case acquittals, dismissals, reduced charges, reduced penalties and plea deals. When your future is hanging in the balance, hire an experienced DUI attorney to improve your chances of achieving a positive case outcome.

With an attorney by your side, you can have greater peace of mind during what is otherwise a scary and overwhelming time following an underage DUI arrest. Your lawyer will investigate the incident and your arrest, find out what evidence the prosecution has against you, and negotiate with the other side of the case on your behalf for optimal results. Your lawyer will keep you informed about your rights, update you on the status of your case and let you know how Arizona’s underage DUI laws work throughout the legal process.

What Is an Underage DUI in Arizona?

In Arizona, driving under the influence is the crime of operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level that is at or above the legal limit of 0.08 percent. It is also possible to get a DUI in Arizona with a lesser BAC if the driver appears to be impaired to any degree by an intoxicating substance.

An underage DUI means that the driver appears intoxicated or has registered any discernible amount of blood alcohol content and is under Arizona’s legal drinking age of 21 years old. Arizona has a Zero Tolerance policy for underage drunk drivers. This means that if a motor vehicle driver is found to have consumed any amount of alcohol at all – a BAC of even 0.01 percent – he or she can face criminal charges, impaired or not. This law is clear and strict.

Note that Arizona’s underage DUI law prohibits a person under 21 years of age to not only drive but be in “actual physical control” of a motor vehicle with any level of liquor or an intoxicating drug in the person’s system. This means that someone under the age of 21 could face a DUI charge in Arizona even if he or she was not actually driving but was in the car at the time of the arrest.

Defenses to Underage DUI Charges in Arizona

Our aggressive defense strategies employed by our Tempe DUI attorneys will include many of the same elements of defense of adult drivers charged with drunk driving in Tempe or elsewhere in Arizona:

  • An overview of the circumstances of the arrest – Was there probable cause for the initial traffic stop? Was a crime committed? Was the defendant in actual physical control of a vehicle?
  • A detailed review of the facts of the case – Is there reason to doubt that the police had cause to stop you or violated your rights in any way?
  • A consideration of your legal situation – Is this a first-offense DUI? Have you had any other trouble with the law in the past? Do you have a clean driving record otherwise?
  • An examination of the evidence held by the prosecutor – Is there sufficient evidence to meet the prosecutor’s burden of proof? Is any of the evidence inadmissible, such as inaccurate BAC test results?
  • Aggressive advocacy before a prosecutor – And, if necessary, we can advocate for your rights before a judge and jury at trial.

Learn more about our defense strategies and how we can help you fight charges by scheduling a free consultation with an underage DUI lawyer in Tempe, AZ.

Consequences of Underage DUI in Tempe, AZ

The stakes are high for you if you are younger than 21 and were charged with DUI. Most young people in this age category have not completed their higher education or established themselves in their careers. A DUI conviction can impede your future hopes and dreams in ways that you do not fully appreciate yet – but which you will experience if you are convicted.

In the near future, you may spend time in jail, pay high fines and penalties, lose your driving privileges, and have a misdemeanor on your record. The penalties associated with an underage DUI in Arizona include:

  • Driver’s license suspension for up to two years 
  • Up to $500 in fines and court costs
  • Court-ordered substance abuse course or counseling
  • Court-ordered community service
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device at your expense
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to 30 days of detention, for a second offense

 Unfortunately, this is not where the consequences of a DUI end. Over years to come, you may encounter difficulty when you enroll in college, apply for student loans, apply for jobs, apply for housing, seek to travel abroad, enlist to serve in the military, and in many more goals that you pursue.

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation With a Tempe Underage DUI Lawyer

Whether you contact our law firm or another DUI defense law firm, we earnestly hope, for your own sake, that you will not simply plead guilty to minor DUI or traditional DUI on your own. We urge you to discuss your case with an experienced local underage DUI attorney in Tempe before taking any action that might come back to haunt you.

Rosenstein Law Group has helped many underage drivers who were charged with DUI in Tempe, Mesa, Scottsdale, and Phoenix obtain good results, including:

  • Charges reduced
  • Cases dismissed
  • Client acquitted at trial

Contact us online or by calling our law office at (480) 248-7666 to schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced and dedicated underage DUI attorney.


  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.