DUI Arrest Process – Scottsdale, Arizona

An arrest for DUI in Scottsdale, Arizona, can be an overwhelming process. Most arrestees will not know what to expect and will likely have a number of unanswered questions. Below is information on what to expect if you are arrested for a DUI. If you, or someone you know, has been arrested for DUI, the lawyers at Rosenstein Law Group are here to help. Contact our office today online here or by calling (480) 248-7666 to schedule your free DUI case evaluation.

Causes for an Officer to Pull You Over

Several red flags will prompt an officer to pull you over. Suppose an officer observes any type of irregular driving behavior, such as swerving or violating traffic laws. In that case, there is a good chance that you may be pulled over for further investigation. There are other instances in which the initial reason for the stop was for speeding or a broken taillight. During the stop, if the officer suspects that you are under the influence, then that prompts an investigation as well.

Pulled Over Due to Suspicion of a DUI

Suppose an officer has a suspicion that you are under the influence. In that case, they may ask that you do field sobriety tests and will usually request that you submit to a portable breath test as well. Depending on the results of these tests, you may be arrested for a DUI.

The DUI Arrest

If you have been arrested for DUI, you will be transported to a police station, or perhaps a DUI van, for additional chemical testing and processing. In most cases, you will be released with a citation at the end of that process. However, on occasion, a DUI suspect is booked into jail and held to see a judge. The judge will determine the conditions that need to be satisfied before they can be released from custody. Usually, people are released based solely on their promise to appear. However, the judge could impose a bond or other release conditions depending on the circumstances of the case.

What to Do

If you or a loved one needs help with the Scottsdale DUI, contact us at Rosenstein Law Group. We can provide a free consultation in the office or by phone. You can reach us 24/7 by calling (480) 248-7666. Even if a Scottsdale officer has just pulled you over under suspicion of DUI, contact us. One of our local Scottsdale DUI attorneys will be available day or night to take your call and walk you through how to proceed.

At Rosenstein Law Group, we are available to represent you at your initial appearance. We will come to get you out of jail. After you have bonded out of jail, you will need to prepare for your next court hearing. It’s important to consult with a DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.

DUI Consequences – Scottsdale, Arizona

The consequences of a DUI depend largely on your blood alcohol content and whether or not you have any prior DUI convictions within the last 84 months. Depending on your circumstances, the mandatory minimum penalties for a DUI in Scottsdale are as follows:

First Time DUI Offenses – Scottsdale, Arizona:

First Time Regular DUI (Impaired the Slightest Degree or BAC .08+):

  • 10 days jail w/ 9 suspended upon completion of substance abuse screening and recommended counseling.
  • $250 base fine plus surcharge.
  • $500 Prison Construction Fund assessment.
  • $500 DPS Equipment Fund assessment.
  • Substance abuse screening and counseling.
  • 8 points against your driver’s license.
  • 1-year interlock requirement, which can be reduced by MVD to 6 months if fully compliant with interlock rules.
  • 90-day suspension of driving privileges, with no driving the first 30 days and a restricted driver’s license for the remaining 60 days if eligible (Note: if you are suspended according to Arizona’s Admin Per Se statute prior to being convicted, you will not face this suspension upon conviction).
  • SR22 (Note: The SR22 is only required if your driving privileges have not been suspended according to Arizona’s Admin Per Se law before the entry of the DUI conviction).

First Time Extreme DUI (BAC .15+):

  • 30 days jail, with up to 21 days suspended if you obtain an interlock device for 12 months. Of the nine remaining days, 20% must be served in actual jail, while you can serve the remainder on home detention if you are eligible.
  • $250 base fine plus surcharge.
  • $250 DUI Abatement Fund Fee.
  • $1,000 Prison Construction Fund assessment.
  • $1,000 DPS Equipment Fund assessment.
  • Substance abuse screening and counseling.
  • 8 points against your driver’s license.
  • 1-year interlock requirement.
  • 90-day suspension of driving privileges, with no driving the first 30 days and a restricted driver’s license for the remaining 60 days if eligible (Note: if you are suspended under Arizona’s Admin Per Se statute prior to being convicted, you will not face this suspension).
  • SR22 (Note: The SR22 is only required if your driving privileges have not been suspended under Arizona’s Admin Per Se law before the entry of the DUI conviction).

First Time Super-Extreme DUI (BAC .20 +):

  • 45 days jail, with up to 31 days suspended if you obtain an interlock device for at least 12 months. Of the remaining 14 days, 20% must be served in actual jail, while you can serve the remainder on home detention if you are eligible.
  • $500 base fine plus surcharge.
  • $250 DUI Abatement Fund Fee.
  • $1,000 Prison Construction Fund assessment.
  • $1,000 DPS Equipment Fund assessment.
  • Substance abuse screening and counseling.
  • 8 points against your driver’s license.
  • 18-month interlock requirement.
  • 90-day suspension of driving privileges, with no driving the first 30 days and a restricted driver’s license for the remaining 60 days if eligible (Note: if you are suspended pursuant to Arizona’s Admin Per Se statute prior to being convicted, you will not face this suspension upon conviction).
  • SR22 (Note: The SR22 is only required if your driving privileges have not been suspended pursuant to Arizona’s Admin Per Se law prior to the entry of the DUI conviction).

Second Offense DUI Penalties – Scottsdale, Arizona:

Second Offense Regular DUI (Impaired the slightest degree or BAC .08 +):

  • 90 days jail, with 60 suspended upon completion of substance abuse screening and counseling. For the 30 days of jail, home detention is available for eligible individuals after the first six days.
  • 30 hours of community service.
  • $500 base fine plus surcharge.
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fund Assessment.
  • $1250 DPS Equipment Fund Assessment.
  • Substance abuse screening and counseling.
  • 1-year revocation of driving privileges (Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License may be available to eligible individuals after the first 45 days of the revocation period).
  • 12-month interlock device requirement following the reinstatement of driving privileges.

Second Offense Extreme DUI (BAC .15 +):

  • 120 days jail with home detention for eligible individuals after the first 20% of the sentence has been served. Sixty days of the sentence must be consecutive.
  • 30 hours of community service.
  • $500 base fine plus surcharge.
  • $250 DUI Abatement Fund Fee.
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fund Assessment.
  • $1250 DPS Equipment Fund Assessment.
  • Substance abuse screening and counseling.
  • 1-year revocation of driving privileges (Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License may be available to eligible individuals after the first 45 days of the revocation period).
  • 12-month interlock requirement following the reinstatement of driving privileges.

Second Offense Super Extreme DUI:

  • 180 days jail with home detention for eligible individuals after the first 20% of the sentence has been served. You must serve 90 days of the sentence consecutively.
  • 30 hours of community service.
  • $500 base fine plus surcharge.
  • $2250 DUI Abatement Fund Fee.
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fund Assessment.
  • $1250 DPS Equipment Fund Assessment.
  • 1-year revocation of driving privileges (Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License may be available to eligible individuals after the first 45 days of the revocation period).
  • 18-month interlock device requirement following the reinstatement of driving privileges.

Importance of a DUI Defense Lawyer

Your lawyer can review any evidence that’s being used against you. A DUI defense lawyer can negotiate on your behalf to get a lesser charge or reduced sentence in many cases. Your lawyer can also have a meeting with the prosecutor and attempt to negotiate a more favorable plea deal at a pre-trial conference. Additionally, your lawyer will file motions on your case to address any issues presented by its unique facts.

Contact a Top-Rated DUI Defense Attorney in Scottsdale, AZ

If you have been arrested or charged with a DUI offense in Scottsdale, Arizona, or the surrounding areas, call Rosenstein Law Group. The attorneys at Rosenstein Law Group understand the serious nature of this offense, how best to defend you, and have defended 1000’s DUI clients.

For more information about your DUI case’s various defenses and schedule your free consultation, contact Rosenstein Law Group today. You can reach us 24/7 at (480) 248-7666.

COMPLETE THE FORM BELOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.