Second or Third DUI Offense – Scottsdale

Arizona has harsh mandatory consequences DUI.  The repercussions for getting convicted for DUI the first time are severe, and the penalties you face for a second, third, or subsequent DUI offense can be downright devastating.  Keep in mind that the jail time and fines continue to increase with every DUI conviction. Without the assistance of an experienced DUI attorney, you may find yourself contending with the maximum sentence for your violation. An experienced and skilled defense counsel on your side is crucial if you have been convicted of a DUI before.

Scottsdale Repeat DUI Defense Lawyer

At Rosenstein Law Group, we have a strong focus on the defense of the accused impaired driver. Our entire focus is on limiting the ramifications you could face over the short and long term. Contact our experienced DUI Defense lawyers in Scottsdale for a free initial consultation by calling us at (480) 248-7666 or online here. We can be reached 24/7.

Second DUI Offense – Scottsdale, Arizona

Suppose you are arrested and convicted a second time for DUI within seven years of your first conviction. In that case, you will face enhanced legal penalties, including:

  • Jail Time: The sentence for a repeated DUI conviction within seven years is between 30 to 180 days in jail.
  • Probation: Up to five years of probation.
  • Fines & Fees: These can total in excess of $10,000 depending on the type of conviction.
  • One-year revocation of your driver’s license: Revocation (as opposed to suspension) means that your license will not be automatically reinstated after the determined time. Instead, once your minimum one-year revocation is complete, you will need to reapply for a license and pass a test to get it back.
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device: A conviction for a second time DUI will require the installation of interlock devices in all vehicles driven by repeat DUI offenders. The requirement can be at least one year to two years after the driver’s license is active again.

Third DUI Offense – Scottsdale, Arizona

Suppose you are arrested and convicted of more than two DUI offenses within seven years. In that case, your offense will be processed as aggravated DUI, which is considered a class 4 felony in the State of Arizona. It is defined under § 28-1383(A)(2). The penalties for a third DUI conviction may include the following:

  • Prison or jail time
  • Large Fines & Fees
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device Requirements
  • Driver’s License Revocation
  • Mandatory Alcohol or Drug Screening
  • Mandatory Alcohol/Drug Education or Treatment Program
  • Probation for up to ten years
  • Community Service
  • A Criminal Record

Fighting a Second, Third or Subsequent DUI Conviction

Suppose you face charges of a second or subsequent DUI. In that case, it is vitally important that you retain a skillful legal representation of your case. A prosecuting attorney will work to see that you receive the maximum possible sentence to rob you of your freedom; our firm will work to aggressively combat the evidence brought in your case to reduce the sentence imposed on you if we are unable to have the charges dropped altogether.

Plea Bargain

A plea bargain is an agreement made between a defendant and the prosecutor in exchange for you pleading guilty, resulting in less harsh penalties than what you would be facing at trial.  Having an experienced DUI attorney doing the negotiating for you can make a massive difference in the penalties you face.

Look for Inconsistencies with the Police Report

An attorney from our law firm will thoroughly analyze the police report made on the night of your DUI charge.  Suppose there are factual or legal inconsistencies in the report. In that case, it can lead to a reduction or an outright dismissal of your charges.

Issues with Previous DUI Charges

Our attorneys will review any and all allegations of your prior offense. If the State cannot prove the offense over our objections, your potential penalties will be significantly reduced.

Incorrect BAC Reading

Through our attorneys’ many years of experience reviewing the State’s blood alcohol content results and testing methods, we can find incorrect readings of BAC. Our attorneys can often find oversights, inconsistencies, and outright errors and mistakes in the State’s results that can lead to your charges being reduced or outright dismissed.

Actual Physical Control

The State must prove that the accused was in actual physical control of the automobile to get a conviction.  Depending on the circumstances, our attorneys can use the prosecutor’s lack of ability to prove this element to achieve favorable results.

No Reasonable Suspicion

Suppose the officer who pulled over the driver’s car did not have a legal reason to do so (like the driver committed a traffic violation). In that case, our attorneys can have filed the appropriate motions and ultimately dismissed the case.

No Probable Cause

Suppose the police have no evidence that the driver was impaired by alcohol or drugs after the driver is stopped. In that case, our attorneys can argue for the dismissal of the charges.

Denial of Your Constitutional Right to Confer with Counsel

If you requested to speak to an attorney and were denied that right. Then our attorneys can use that fact to have blood alcohol content results precluded and possibly have all your charges dismissed.

Second and Third DUI Defense Attorney – Scottsdale, Arizona

Having the right attorney can make all of the difference.   If you have been arrested for a second or third, or subsequent DUI in Arizona within seven years, contact a qualified DUI defense attorney in Arizona. We will work on a strong defense for you and your case. Call Rosenstein Law Group at 480-248-7666 to schedule a free initial consultation.


  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.