Arizona law prohibits minors from driving a car with any amount of alcohol in their system. That means, in addition to the laws against driving impaired, and driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at .08 or above, any driver under 21 can also be charged with DUI with any amount of alcohol in their body under A.R.S. 4-244(34). Arizona has legislatively enacted a “zero tolerance” law when it comes to underage drivers drinking alcohol – the proscribed limit – is .01.
The consequences are serious for an underage DUI or “baby DUI”, especially when you consider the limited resources most individuals possess at this stage of life, and the longstanding impacts on life. The following list of consequences is not exhaustive, but a conviction for being a minor with a DUI include:
Reviewing the consequences and life-time impacts of a criminal conviction for this offense, NCDD Board Certified DUI defense attorney Craig Rosenstein, and the team of attorneys at the Rosenstein Law Group (RLG), employ an aggressive position on your behalf by first investigating the State’s case, beginning with the stop of your car, to the time they tested your blood, or breath, right up to the day of trial (if necessary). Our goal at this stage is to get the charge(s) dismissed, reduced, or weaken the State’s position by suppressing their evidence by Court Order. Even where charges are not reduced or dismissed, the attorneys at RLG have the experience and “know how” regarding alternative pleas and resolutions, and mitigated sentencing to avoid the harshest penalties and get you the best possible result. The stakes are high, and you deserve the best opinion possible regarding your case, and that is what you will get when you call (480) 248-7666 today to speak with one of our experienced DUI criminal defense attorneys.
Even though you are under 21 years old you can still be charged with the “adult” DUI laws if you register a breath or blood alcohol concentration of .08 or above. Those laws do require a mandatory minimum jail sentence. In many cases, courts and prosecutors do not look at underage drivers charged with driving impaired or with a BAC above. 08 with much empathy, to the contrary, in many cases there is less understanding and openness during negotiations/case preparation. Being charged with a “baby DUI” and an “adult DUI” is really the worst of two worlds because one has a mandatory jail sentence and the other carries a possible loss of an Arizona driver license for two-years.
Unfortunately for underage drivers, the “extreme DUI” (BAC .15 – .19) law and “super extreme DUI” (BAC .20 or more) law also apply to you. Along with the higher alcohol concentration come much higher mandatory minimum jail sentences, monetary fines and surcharges, substance abuse treatment and education, and probation and fees. These “adult DUI” laws carry one other hidden danger; they aggravate, if a second offense is committed within 7 years of the prior offense – the jail, fines and fees, loss of driver license, substance abuse treatment/education and ignition interlock device – all get more severe in length of time, costs, and waste of your resources. The costs associated with this type of conviction can easily exceed $10,000.
A conviction for underage DUI is a serious criminal charge early in life and you should not merely take a plea without first consulting with an experienced DUI attorney that can defend you in any Tucson area court. The attorneys at our firm have helped many students and other underage clients avoid the worst consequences of an underage DUI, or DUI, conviction. Set your defense team early and speak with one of the attorneys at the Rosenstein Law Group today by calling 480-248-7666 or contact us online and set an appointment for a free initial consultation with one of our experienced DUI attorneys.