Arizona has harsh penalties for underage drinking. If you are a minor accused of underage drinking or the parent of such an individual, you should know the high stakes. You need a savvy Arizona criminal defense attorney in your corner to ensure justice is served. Contact Rosenstein Law Group today to help fight your underage alcohol-related charge. Call our office now at 480-248-7666 to schedule your free consultation.
The legal age to consume alcohol in Arizona is 21. However, there is one minor exception to this law in that a minor’s consumption of alcohol for medicinal purposes or religious purposes is legal. State law also states an individual must be 21 years of age to patronize a bar. However, suppose the minor is accompanied by a spouse, parent, or legal guardian who is of legal drinking age. In that case, they can patronize a bar. However, such minors are not legally permitted to consume or order alcoholic beverages at a bar or elsewhere.
The state’s minor in possession law makes it clear Arizona wants to punish those who are underage and possess alcohol. Minors are not legally permitted to purchase, obtain or possess alcohol. A minor in possession is a misdemeanor charge. This charge can lead to harsh consequences such as a permanent criminal record that will make it difficult to obtain employment or possibly even obtain financial aid for college. In fact, some colleges might deny admission to students with such a misdemeanor charge on their record. Additional penalties for the charge include potential jail time, fines upwards of $2,500, community service, treatment, and probation. Individuals found guilty of possessing alcohol when under 18 years of age might also lose their driving privileges for upwards of six months.
The state’s minor in consumption law states it is illegal for an individual who is under 21-years-old to consume alcohol. Arizona’s minor in consumption is considered a class 2 misdemeanor. The maximum penalty for such a misdemeanor is four months of jail, a fine of around $1,300, and two years of probation. However, there is also the potential to simply be sentenced to probation, community service, treatment, or alcohol counseling classes. Repeat offenders might face jail time.
An Arizona minor who is caught in possession of a fake ID or using a fake ID will be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor. A fake ID charge can lead to an arrest as the individual was in possession of or using false identification. Penalties can also include upwards of six months of jail time, a fine upwards of $2,500, and a driver’s license suspension for six months.
Don’t lose hope if you are charged with underage drinking or using a fake ID. An experienced Arizona criminal defense attorney will tailor the details of your legal defense to your specific case. Choose the right attorney, and this professional will vigorously fight the charge on your behalf, doing everything possible within the confines of the law to clear your name. Contact us for a consultation to learn more about how Rosenstein Law Group can help you resolve your Arizona minor & age alcohol-related charges to get your life back on track. Video & phone consultations available. Call now 480-248-7666.