One of the most devastating consequences of driving under the influence is if there is an accident that results in injuries or deaths to passengers and/or drivers. If you are an intoxicated driver, you will likely receive criminal or even felony charges from the state of Arizona. It would be best if you had a top-rated DUI defense team to help you through the complexities of the situation and arrive at the best possible outcome. Rosenstein Law Group DUI defense attorneys have handled 1000’s DUI cases. We will aggressively fight for your rights in Court. Today, contact our office to schedule your free consultation with one of our skilled Peoria DUI Defense attorneys today. Call 480-248-7666.
For accident DUI cases involving injuries, the penalties include:
Repeated offenses will elevate the charge to a felony.
Of course, the worst-case scenario is when a DUI results in an accident that causes death. Arizona is one of a few states that does not have specific legislation for DUI that cause deaths. However, prosecutors may pursue convictions under more general homicide statutes. A Fatal DUI can encompass three categories:
Negligent homicide: This means when a homicide when the other party failed to perceive that a substantial and unjustifiable risk will occur. This can be classified as a class 4 felony and a potential prison sentence of at least one year.
Manslaughter: Arizona law states that a person is guilty of manslaughter when they recklessly cause the death of another, commit second-degree murder, knowingly assist in another person’s suicide, or knowingly or recklessly cause the death of an unborn child. This charge is considered a Class 2 felony worth a minimum jail sentence of four years and a maximum of ten years.
Second Degree Murder: This means intentionally causing another person’s death, knowing that his conduct will cause death or serious injury, and ends up causing the death or causing deaths while showing “extreme indifference” to human life. The penalties for second-degree murder in a DUI include a prison sentence with a minimum of 10 years and up to 22 years maximum with no time off or early release for good behavior.
If you face a DUI with an Accident charge that has caused injuries or death, you’ll probably already distraught. Run, not walk, to the nearest phone line to call the Rosenstein Law Group at 480-248-7666. We are available 24/7 and used to talking to callers who are scared, devastated, and needing a robust defense. You can even get a free consultation by clicking on this link.