You have made mistakes like any human being, but what if one of them was driving under the influence for the first time? The truth is Arizona has some of the strictest DUI penalties in the country, whether it is the first time or multiple offenses. You should be aware of a DUI’ s legalities, so you know what steps you’ll need to take next.
When you get charged with a first-offense DUI in Peoria, Arizona, it means your BAC is above .08 percent and below .15. To reach a .08 BAC, it typically takes about four to five drinks. Since Arizona is a zero-tolerance state, an officer can still arrest you if you show signs of intoxication or erratic driving, even if your BAC is below .08. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, the legal limit is .04 percent. If you are an underage drinker-and-driver, the limit is .00 percent; even a small percent can land you a DUI charge.
A first-offense DUI in Peoria, AZ, is typically a Class One Misdemeanor. While this is a lesser charge than a felony, you’ll likely receive a permanent criminal charge on your record, which can impede the process of landing a job or obtaining housing. Other penalties include:
If you get charged with a DUI, you should consult with expert DUI attorneys to get your penalties reduced or dropped. At Rosenstein Law Group, we specialize in DUI cases, and our team is full of seasoned experts. For example, Attorney Craig Rosenstein is board certified in DUI defense, Field Sobriety Test Certified, Intoxilyzer 8000 Certified and certified in Forensic Blood and Urine. When you turn to the team at Rosenstein Law Group, you’re in expert hands.
You can connect with us at any time of day or night by calling 480-248-7666 or contacting us here for a free consultation. Good people make mistake, we work hard to ensure that one bad night does not does not destroy your future.