Out of State DUI – El Mirage
Understand that you may be facing a 90-day or 1 year driver’s license suspension 15 days after your arrest, so it is best to contact an Arizona DUI attorney as soon as possible to discuss your options. Call us at 480-248-7666 or contact us online to set up a free consultation.
Potential Penalties For a DUI in Arizona For An Out Of State Driver
Arizona has some of the harshest DUI penalties in the country, even for first time DUI offenses. If you are charged with a misdemeanor DUI, possible penalties include:
- 10 to 180 days of jail
- Driver’s license suspension
- Up to 5 years of probation
- Substantial fines and fees
- Ignition interlock device requirement
- Alcohol and substance abuse treatment classes
- Permanent criminal record
- Increased insurance rates
- 8 points on your motor vehicle record
- Traffic Survival School
Do I Have To Return To Arizona For My DUI Arrest Court Date If I Live Out Of State?
Aside from asking what the consequences are for a DUI conviction in Arizona, one of the most common questions we receive from people is whether they will have to come back to Arizona for court if they live out of state. A typical DUI case will take more than a few months to resolve, with multiple court appearances during that span. For most misdemeanor DUI cases, the attorneys at the Rosenstein Law Group can handle court appearances for you, so you do not have to worry about the added time and expenses involved in traveling back and forth to Arizona. If your appearance is required, we may be able to set up a telephonic conference with the court.
Will My Home State Driver’s License Be Suspended if I am Arrested For a DUI in Arizona?
If you were arrested for a DUI in El Mirage, the officer likely gave you a pink piece of paper with the words “ADMIN PER SE/IMPLIED CONSENT AFFIDAVIT” written across the top. If you look toward the bottom portion of that page, you will find a rectangular box titled “ORDER OF SUSPENSION.”
In that box are two paragraphs with checkboxes. If the checkbox beside the first paragraph is marked, then you are facing a 12-month implied consent driver’s license suspension, which will begin 15 days after the date of your arrest unless you or your attorney request a hearing with the MVD/ADOT within 15 days after your arrest.
If the checkbox beside the second paragraph is marked, then you are facing a 90-day admin per se driver’s license suspension, which will begin 15 days after the date of your arrest unless you or your attorney request a hearing with the MVD/ADOT within 15 days after your arrest.
Why You Should Speak with An Arizona DUI Defense Lawyer Immediately
You will want to discuss the details of your case with a DUI attorney to determine the best course of action. If a hearing is requested within 15 days, then the license suspension will be stayed pending the outcome of the hearing, meaning that you may to continue driving at least until the hearing date.
You may notice that the paperwork states that your Arizona driving privilege will be suspended. However, the punishments for a DUI arrest or conviction in Arizona can reach beyond state lines.
If you commit a traffic violation in Arizona, such as a DUI, that information is shared with other states by the Arizona MVD through the Interstate Driver’s License Compact. This compact is an agreement between states that allows them to input data about a person’s motor vehicle record into a national database. Many states have different laws and regulations when it comes to driver’s license suspensions for DUI arrests or convictions, so the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administration (AAMVA) publishes the AAMVA Code Dictionary (ACD). The ACD is a set of codes used to set a nationwide standard to identify types of traffic related convictions and suspensions or revocations. If you have a conviction or suspension related to an alcohol offense, your driving record will show an ACD code beginning with an “A” and followed by two numbers. This ACD code will give notice to your home state that you were convicted of or received a suspension or revocation as a result of an alcohol related offense, such as a DUI in Arizona. The state in which you hold your driver’s license can then take action to suspend, revoke, or place restrictions on your driver’s license.
Arizona DUI Defense Lawyer Helping To Limit The Impact Of DUI Arrest
Each state treats DUI license suspensions and revocations differently but having an experienced DUI attorney in Arizona can help reduce or prevent any negative driver’s license impacts in your home state. Call the Rosenstein Law Group at 480-248-7666 or contact us online to discuss the potential impact your Arizona DUI arrest may have on your out-of-state license.
Will I Have To Serve Jail Time in Arizona If I Live Out Of State?
A misdemeanor DUI conviction may result in jail time ranging from 10 to 180 days. However, just because you were charged with a DUI does not mean that you will ultimately be convicted. We aggressively defend our clients who find themselves charged with a DUI offense. If we are able to have the charges dismissed or we win at trial, you will not be looking at any jail time. In other cases, we will work to potentially reduce charges to lower level offenses. This may eliminate jail time, ignition interlock requirements, fees, substance abuse classes, and license suspensions.
If you ultimately end up with a jail sentence, we will work with you to reduce the consequences of incarceration. In some cases, we may be able to reduce jail time with alternatives like home detention or work release. Additionally, if you do not live in Arizona, we can work with you to arrange for your incarceration at a facility in your home state. You may also be eligible to serve a portion of your jail term on home detention.
Free Initial Consultations by Phone or Video Available for Out of State DUI Charges
Whether you were in Arizona for work, vacation, or just driving through town, the Rosenstein Law Group is available to navigate the Arizona criminal court system for you. We are open 24/7, so no matter what your travel plans are, we are available to schedule a free consultation. The Rosenstein Law Group can help you avoid complications that come with being charged with a DUI in Arizona as an out-of-state driver. Contact us at 480-248-7666 or online to schedule a free consultation today.
Protect Your Rights
- 1. We have defended hundreds of clients.
- 2. We have a successful track record.
- 3. We care about your future.
CLIENT THANK YOUS
“Craig is my hero and he saved my career and my future. I got stopped in Tempe and was charged with a regular DUI. Craig questioned the validity of the stop and was able to get it reduced to a reckless driving charge…”
“Dear Mr. Rosenstein, Having talked to you this day, I determined that you were right in your decision on my case. I appreciate and thank you…”
Thank you again for helping settle this matter for me. I appreciate all you guys did on my behalf…”