DUI With Child Passenger in Phoenix

If you are found to be operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs and you have a child passenger with you in the car, you will face an aggravated DUI charge under Arizona law. What would have likely been a misdemeanor offense is now a felony that could land you in jail, cost you thousands in fines and result in other severe penalties.

With so much on the line, it is important that you have an experienced Phoenix DUI defense lawyer representing you at all times. At the Rosenstein Group, our criminal attorneys dedicate the majority of our practice to representing people across Arizona who are facing charges for serious drunk driving offenses.

Penalties for DUI With Child in Car

Being cited for any DUI offense while there is a child under the age of 15 in the car as a passenger is considered a class 6 felony and punishable by jail time and other harsh penalties. Depending on the BAC level recorded at the time of the arrest, minimum jail time is between one and 90 days; the maximum jail sentence is two years for any child endangerment charge.

As an offense of aggravated DUI, DUI with child in car requires at least one year of license suspension and two years mandatory ignition interlock device installment. Alcohol counseling, community service hours, a minimum fine of $4,600, and probation of up to five years are also included in the sentence of a child endangerment conviction.

If you are the parent of the child in the car and you were caught driving under the influence, you may be subject to additional sanctions from child protective services. The level of potential sanctions will depend on the number of prior convictions and other factors. Although this charge is class 6, child endangerment is still a felony and can never be expunged or set aside from your criminal record.

Don’t Risk Your Future

A felony conviction will have a devastating effect not only on your life and future, but also your child’s life and your family as a whole. Therefore, you should do everything you can to protect your family from that kind of damage and you can begin by contacting a Phoenix DUI attorney from the Rosenstein Law Group.

At our firm, we are dedicated to providing the people of Phoenix with dependable, aggressive DUI defense for all types of charges. Our DUI attorneys are trained especially with regard to Arizona DUI laws, which can be much different and much more harsh than other states. This dedicated focus on Arizona law can significantly increase your chances of obtaining a lighter charge or dismissal of the case.

Contact a Phoenix DUI Attorney

If you were arrested for DUI and there was a child passenger present, contact our office today and schedule a free case evaluation with a member of our skilled legal team. Call us at (480) 452-1028 or contact us via email to discuss your case with an experienced Arizona DUI attorney.