Arizona law requires that a person be at least 21 years old to legally consume alcohol. If a person under the age of 21 consumes alcohol and then drives or is found in actual control of a vehicle in Paradise Valley, they could be charged with what is commonly referred to as a “baby DUI.” The term baby references the young age of the person being charged and should not be mistaken for referencing the punishments associated with a baby DUI – which can be severe. Contact a Paradise Valley underage DUI lawyer at Rosenstein Law Group today for a free consultation.
Generally speaking, if a person 21 years old or over is charged with a DUI in Paradise Valley, they are held to the standard blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. However, because there is no blood alcohol level threshold in the underage DUI laws in Arizona – there is a zero-tolerance policy.
This means that if a person under the age of 21 has any amount of alcohol in their system while driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle in Paradise Valley – they could be charged with a baby DUI. The Paradise Valley DUI attorneys at Rosenstein Law Group has handled multiple cases where the government has pursued charges with only trace amounts of alcohol in that person’s system.
Unlike DUI charges for those 21 years old or older, jail time is not mandatory for an underage DUI. However, it is important to remember that just because jail time is not mandatory in these instances, a judge still has the discretion to order jail time for up to 6 months. Other penalties associated with underage DUI charges are:
Given the variety of penalties that an individual can be punished for after being charged with an underage DUI out of Paradise Valley, it is crucial to immediately contact an attorney experienced in representing individuals charged with underage DUI. Rosenstein Law Group helps all students, military personnel, and other minors in the Paradise Valley area who have been charged with underage DUI. Our team of attorneys have represented many individuals in these circumstances and will consult with you initially for no charge at all. We advise you not just plead guilty, and our DUI defense attorneys can help explore your options by calling (480) 248-7666 to set up an appointment, we offer phone and video consultations along with in-person appointments.
If a person is a minor (under the age of 18) when they are charged with an underage DUI out of Paradise Valley, they will be charged under Arizona’s juvenile laws. While the zero-tolerance policy discussed above is still applicable, usually, the penalties can be more lenient for minors in these situations.
Another important distinction to be made is that if a person under the age of 18 is sentenced to jail time as a punishment, they will serve their jail time in a juvenile detention facility. Whereas, a person over the age of 18 years old will serve their jail time in an adult detention facility.
Nobody plans to be charged with a DUI, and the consequences – even before a conviction – can be devastating. At Rosenstein Law Group, we have local attorneys who have experience with underage DUI cases out of Paradise Valley. Our DUI defense attorneys will work with your case from start to finish. Each case is unique, and you can be assured that our underage DUI defense attorney will review every angle of your case and work diligently to achieve the best possible outcome. Our staff and attorneys here at Rosenstein Law Group understand how this is a frightening and high stakes situation, with the result of an underage DUI case may affect the rest of your minors life. Call today to speak with a Paradise Valley defense attorney who has dealt with these types of charges in the past and can navigate your case toward a favorable outcome at 480) 248-7666.