If you were arrested in Pima County for driving under the influence, let the Board-Certified DUI Law Specialists at the Rosenstein Law Group help you. Our firm is the only one in northern Arizona with both DUI and Criminal Law specialists, and our expertise may save you from the consequences of a DUI conviction. Contact Rosenstein Law Group today at (480) 248-7666 for your free Pima County DUI case evaluation.
The Pima County Superior Court hears criminal misdemeanor and criminal traffic cases filed by the County Attorney or a law enforcement agency. The cases most often heard are DUIs, possession of marijuana, assault, theft, and driving on a suspended license.
Arizona defines driving under the influence as having a blood alcohol content [BAC] of 0.08 or under the influence of drugs – legal or illegal. Arizona prosecutes DUIs aggressively, and conviction of even a first offense will get you at least ten days in jail and a fine of at least $1,250. You will also have to participate in alcohol screening/treatment/education, equip your vehicle(s) with a certified ignition lock, and perform community service. Remember, this is the first offense. For a second or subsequent offense, the jail time goes up to a minimum of 90 days, the fine will be not less than $3,000, and you lose your license for 12 months. You’re still in screening/treatment mode, have to use a lock, and do community service.
You can also be charged with and convicted of extreme DUI (BAC of 0.15 or higher) or aggravated DUI (third offense in 7 years, minor in car, using breath lock, suspended license).
If you have a professional license in Arizona, a DUI conviction can ruin your career. Since 2019, Arizona made it relatively easy for out-of-state professionals to relocate to Arizona without re-testing and re-qualifying. However, these professionals and Arizona qualified pros must report DUIs to their licensing authorities in as few as ten days after the arrest. Once reported, they may be suspended and put on probationary status in their profession. A felony DUI can result in the loss of a professional license.
Military personnel can be dishonorably discharged for a DUI, and it can prevent enlistment. You can’t apply to be a police professional in Arizona for five years after a DUI conviction. CDL drivers face a minimum of a one-year license suspension, even if they weren’t working.
Other licensed professionals subject to sanctions against those licenses for a DUI conviction include real estate agents, licensed securities professionals, appraisers, accountants, attorneys, engineers, schoolteachers, and contractors.
Your case will be processed in the Pima Country Superior Consolidated Justice Court at 240 North Stone Avenue, Tucson.
In court, you will go through:
If you get a DUI in Pima County, you should immediately contact an attorney specializing in defending these cases. Your DUI specialist will understand the ins and outs of your case. A specialist is comfortable with the science and the highly technical language and arguments used by prosecutors against DUI defendants. Skilled at analyzing the testimony of experts, our specialists can find the flaws. With a DUI charge and its potential impact on your professional and personal life, you need an attorney who understands the documents and procedures in DUI cases and can find the favorable facts in your case.
Can the police prove that you were driving? Could your blood alcohol content test have a flaw? Was there probable cause for your stop and arrest? These questions are second nature to the Board-Certified DUI specialists at the Rosenstein Law Group and can help defend your case. Call (480) 248-7666 today to schedule your free consultation.
Arizona law includes several potential defenses to a DUI charge. The Pima County and Scottsdale DUI Law specialists at the Rosenstein Law Group can help you argue those defenses that best fit your charge. Among these defenses are:
If you or a loved one face a criminal DUI charge, don’t wait to contact the Rosenstein Law Group’s DUI and Criminal Law Specialists today. Let us work with you to defend your case in Pima County aggressively. Contact our firm online here or by calling (480) 248-7666.