Menu FREE Consult Request
DUI and Criminal Law Specialists
${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Available to help 24/7
480-248-7666
Where were you arrested? A DUI is a state offense, but each jurisdiction handles them slightly differently.

Labor Day in Arizona means DUI patrols and drunk driving arrests

Across the Valley of the Sun and around the state of Arizona, people are ready to celebrate the unofficial close of summer with the annual Labor Day weekend. As in past years, it is certain that there will be plenty of hot dogs, potato chips, ice-cold beverages – and DUI arrests over the holiday.Law enforcement agencies from Scottsdale to Sedona to Sierra Vista – and all points in between – will be out with extra officers, patrol vehicles, checkpoints and more.

Many of our regular readers will probably recall that last year’s Labor Day weekend crackdown resulted in hundreds of DUI arrests across the state: 468 for misdemeanor drunk driving and another 63 for felony DUI, according to news reports.

There were an additional 123 arrests for DUI-drugs. According to a report, the average BAC (blood alcohol content) in the DUI arrests was .15 percent, or nearly double Arizona’s legal threshold of .08 percent.

Two years ago, there were 490 DUI arrests and more than four dozen more arrested for aggravated DUI. According to a Phoenix radio station report, 114 of those arrested were charged with extreme DUI, which means that the driver’s BAC was tested at .15 percent or above.

Let’s take a quick look at the penalties for three DUI categories we’ve mentioned:

  • DUI: a first offense can mean that you’ll be jailed for no less than 10 consecutive days and fined at least $1,250 plus fees and costs. As is the case with all DUI convictions, you’ll be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle at your expense.
  • Extreme DUI: a first offense means no less than 30 consecutive days behind bars and you’ll be fined at least $2,500 plus fees costs. A second offense means at least 120 consecutive days in jail and a fine of at least $3,250 plus fees and costs.
  • Aggravated DUI: a conviction can mean a license revocation of a year and a presumptive prison sentence of two and half years.

If you have been charged with any of these offenses, contact a law office known for protecting liberty, rights and driving privileges at all times.

 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
We play an active role in the civic life of the Phoenix metropolitan area.
We support Scottsdale's Taste of the Town festival that benefits the local chapter of the Muscular Dystrophy Association as well as the annual Toys for Tots campaign. Our firm also contributes to a number of other local organizations, including Home 'Fur' Good, a nonprofit dedicated to eliminating the euthanasia of adoptable homeless cats and dogs in Maricopa County.
Rosenstein Law Group Best Lawyers 2020 Avvo Rating 10.0 Superb Top Attorney DUI Super Lawyers Arizona Trial Lawyers Association Attorney At Law Magazine Contributing Editor Arizona Attorneys For Criminal Justice Established 1986

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

When you need effective, strategic defense, contact us 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 480-248-7666. We are ready and waiting for your call.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

Submitting your information to us through this web form does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Information submitted through this web form is not confidential, not subject to attorney-client privilege, and will not preclude this law firm from representing a different client in the same legal matter. We do not represent you until you meet with us and sign a fee agreement. Please do not send us any confidential information about your case until we meet.

close

Privacy Policy

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer FREE Consult Request