In many parts of life, we get choices. But when it comes to ignition interlock devices, there are no options. People convicted in Arizona of a DUI offense – even a first offense – must get an ignition interlock installed in their vehicle at their expense.
All of that is clear, but many people are not exactly sure what an ignition interlock device is, how it works and what it can mean for them in day-to-day life.
There are three main points to be understood about an ignition interlock device (IID):
The IID connects to your vehicle’s ignition and can prevent your vehicle from being started
- An IID tests the driver’s breath to detect alcohol content
- The IID records test results and notifies the state if a violation occurs
Before your vehicle can be started, you must blow into the IID, which then analyzes your breath for alcohol content. If the device determines that your breath contains an unallowable level of alcohol in it, your vehicle will not start and the Arizona Department of Transportation is notified.
A violation can mean that the period of time in which you are required to have an IID installed in your vehicle will be extended. It is also possible in some circumstances that your driver’s license will be revoked or suspended after a violation.
The devices range in price, but you can expect to pay from $70 to $150 for installation and from $40 to $100 for the monthly lease fee.
Those fees are in addition to the hefty fines typically imposed by the state for DUI convictions. In order to protect your wallet, driver’s license and freedom, contact an attorney experienced in aggressive, effective DUI defense.