Posted on May 8, 2018 in DUI Charges
If you drive for an hour or so northwest of Scottsdale, you’ll come to El Mirage. The modest-sized city is home to a 33-year-old man recently arrested for aggravated DUI. The arrest comes just five days after he pled guilty to the same charge.
Police pulled him over gave him a breathalyzer test, which apparently registered a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of .161 percent. In Arizona, it is illegal to drive with a BAC of .08 percent and above.
According to a news report, the man was convicted of extreme DUI this past December. His license was revoked as part of his sentence in that case.
Many people believe Arizona has the toughest drunk driving laws in the nation. For instance, for even a first DUI offense, you can be jailed for a minimum of 10 consecutive days and fined not less than $1,250. For a second offense, jail time leaps to no less than 90 days and fines are a minimum of $3,000.
Extreme DUI is defined by the state as drunk driving with a blood alcohol level of .15 percent or higher. Unsurprisingly, sanctions for this offense are harsher.
A first offense means no less than 30 consecutive days in jail (no probation or suspended sentence) and a fine of at least $2,500. A second offense means no less than 120 days behind bars and a fine of at least $3,250.
An aggravated DUI conviction means a presumptive sentence of two years in prison. So clearly, much is on the line for those facing this charge.
Contact an attorney experienced in DUI defense if you face any level of drunk driving charges.