Smart & Aggressive
attorneys defending you.
click for a free consultation

Understanding Arizona’s DUI laws

Posted on June 13, 2016 in General DUI Topics

Driving drunk is a serious offense, and if you are charged with a DUI in Arizona it’s important that you understand the laws and get legal representation to protect your interests. While you may not be able to have the charges completely eliminated or even reduced, depending on the circumstances, it’s very important to find out what can be done in your particular situation. You don’t have to go through the legal process alone, and you want to have someone on your side to explain things to you and help you consider the options you have when you’ve been charged with a DUI in Arizona.

What Arizona says about drunk driving

The drunk driving laws in Arizona are based on a legal blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent. That’s true across the country. Additionally, the state has a zero tolerance blood alcohol limit, meaning that a person under the age of 21 cannot have any alcohol in their system when they are driving. When pulled over they will be charged with DUI, even if they have a blood alcohol level under the 0.08 percent limit. The penalties for DUI in Arizona are also enhanced if the driver’s blood alcohol level is more than 0.15 percent, and penalties can vary depending on whether the DUI charge is a first offense or not.

The severity of the penalties for DUI

Arizona has a mandatory jail sentence even for first-time offenders. That’s harsher than many states have, so being charged with a DUI in Arizona can be more serious than it can be in some other states. License suspension begins at 90 days for a first offense and rises to three years for a third offense. Education and assessment for treatment are also mandatory, as is an ignition interlock device. While Arizona doesn’t confiscate vehicles for DUI offenders, other penalties can cause serious harm to the financial, personal, and professional standing of someone convicted of this crime.

Hiring an attorney can make things less stressful

By hiring an attorney when you have been charged with a DUI, you can take the first step toward having a strong legal professional on your side. That way you have the chance of getting your charges dropped or reduced, which can make a very large difference in the type of fines you’ll be required to pay and the potential for jail time that you may see as a result of any conviction. Your lawyer can help you sort through the legal process of fighting a DUI arrest, so you can get back to living your life with the best possible outcome for your case.

Contact Us


  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.