Smart & Aggressive
attorneys defending you.
click for a free consultation

What are the penalties for being over the limit in Arizona?

Posted on October 20, 2014 in DUI Charges

If you are under investigation for drunk driving, there is a chance that you will have had your blood alcohol concentration tested at some point. In a previous post we discussed the various ways in which this test can be carried out. Some of these methods are more commonly used than others. Equally, some are considered more precise and reliable.

The legal limit in Arizona is 0.08 percent, as is the case throughout the U.S. However, if you are driving a commercial vehicle for which a commercial license is needed, the limit is only 0.04. If you are found guilty of driving under the influence, you could face fines and jail time. The severity of this depends on previous offenses and the severity of the incident in question.

If you are unwilling to take the tests or you fail to complete any tests, you could lose your permission to drive for between 12 and 24 months. Furthermore, you must go through an alcohol or drug screening in order to reinstate your license. If your BAC is found to be over 0.15 percent, this may be considered extreme DUI and can carry a harsher penalty.

However, each case is unique, so if you have concerns about the charges against you, an attorney may be able to provide the advice and assurance you need. He or she will be able to explain the implications of your situation and help you decide how to proceed.

Contact Us


  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.