Posted on April 9, 2014 in DUI Charges
In our last post, we wrote about the death of an 18-year-old Arizona State University student in Tempe and the local police response to that incident. Specifically, authorities in Tempe vowed that they would crack down on enforcement of underage drinking, DUI and other alcohol-related laws.
The first fruits of the ramped-up enforcement effort have come in. Since the effort began, a total of 237 people have been arrested for suspicion of minor consumption, minor in possession of alcohol and DUI. A total of 67 individuals were arrested for DUI, though sources didn’t provide furtherdetails. A good number of these arrests are likely to be first-time offenders who may be offered plea deals by prosecutors, but it’s hard to say for sure.
In Arizona, a first-time DUI charge carries some serious penalties, including 10 days in jail and a fine of at least $1,250. Other requirements include attendance of an alcohol education/treatment course and community service. On top of that, one will also have to have an ignition interlock device in one’s vehicle. The consequences for a first-time DUIcan be harsher if levels of intoxication are particularly high.
For minors suspected of drinking and driving, any trace of alcohol can result in penalties. Minors who face criminal charges for DUI undoubtedly have concerns about how their future will be affected by such a charge, and it can be helpful to work with an experienced attorney in building a solid defense strategy. Doing so can help identify potential issues inthe prosecution’s case and ensure that one is receiving all available protections.
Source: Azcentral.com, “Tempe police arrest 237 in underage drinking crackdown,” Jackee Coe, April 7, 2014.