Posted on December 14, 2011 in DUI Consequences
In our final post in this series on DUI penalties in Arizona, we will discuss the minimum penalties for a conviction under A.R.S. Section 28-1381(A)(3)- commonly known as a DUI Drugs Charge.
(For a complete discussion of a DUI Drugs charge in Arizona, see our previous post First Offense DUI- How Bad Can That Be? (Part 3 of 5)).
The minimum penalties for a first time conviction of a DUI Drugs charge are: fines and fees that usually total about $2,000.00, mandatory alcohol/drug screening and classes, a one year driver’s license suspension, a 12 month mandatory usage of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and 10 days jail (of which 9 days may be suspended by the Courtfor various reasons, but you must serve at least 24 hours in jail regardless).
Remember, these are just the minimum Arizona DUI conviction penalties for a first-time DUI Drugs charge, and the Court may order more. Further, the penalties for a second time conviction increase.
As you can see from this series, the penalties for any DUI in Arizona are harsh and impact many different aspects of your life–including your liberty and freedom, finances, work, driving privileges and personal lifestyle, among others. It pays to have a skilled Arizona DUI defense attorney on your side to help younavigate thru the maze of penalties and conditions that will be imposed upon you following any DUI conviction in Arizona.