Posted on November 28, 2011 in DUI Consequences
At this point in our series, we have discussed the minimum penalties for convictions of the following misdemeanor DUI charges in Arizona: Impaired to the Slightest Degree, BAC Above .08, and BAC Above .15 (Extreme DUI). We will now discuss the consequences for a conviction under A.R.S. 28-1382 (A)(2), which is for having a BAC Above .20 within two hours ofdriving. This charge is commonly known as a Super Extreme DUI.
(For a complete discussion of a Super Extreme DUI charge in Arizona, see our previous post First Offense DUI- How Bad Can That Be? (Part 5 of 5)).
The penalties increase even further with a conviction on a Super Extreme DUI charge in Arizona. The minimum penalties for a first time conviction of a Super Extreme are: 45 days jail- none of which the court may suspend, fines and fees totaling approximately $3,000.00 plus surcharges, mandatory alcohol screening and classes, a 90 day driver’s licensesuspension, and an 18 month ignition interlock device requirement. Again these are just the minimums and the Court may order more.
Further, the minimum penalties for a second offense conviction with a BAC Above .20 in Arizona substantially increase (for example, the jail time goes up to 180 days- which is 6 months, the most one can serve on a misdemeanor conviction).
If you are currently facing a DUI charge of any kind in Arizona, it is often best to contact an experienced Arizona DUI defense attorney to discuss your case and the potential consequences you may face if convicted.
Watch for our next and final blog post in this series, which will explain the minimum penalties for a conviction of a DUI Drugs charge in Arizona.