Posted on October 17, 2011 in DUI Consequences
As discussed in our last blog post, there are many different types of penalties that one would receive if convicted of a misdemeanor DUI charge in Arizona. Starting in this post, we will begin to break down the minimum penalties for the 5 types ofmisdemeanor DUI convictions in Arizona.
The misdemeanor AZ DUI charge that we will discuss now is the Impaired to the Slightest Degree Charge under A.R.S. Section 28-1381(A)(1) (commonly referred to as the A1).
(For a complete discussion of the Impaired to the Slightest Degree Charge, see a previous blog post: First Offense DUI- How Bad Can That Be? (Part 1 of 5).)
The minimum penalties for a first time conviction of the Impaired to the Slightest Degree charge are: 10 days jail (of which 9 days may be suspended by the Court for various reasons, but you must serve at least 24 hours in jail regardless), fines and fees that usually total about $2,000.00, mandatory alcohol/drug screening and classes, a 90 day driver’slicense suspension (although you may be eligible to a restricted permit for 60 of the days, but regardless, there will be no driving at all for a minimum of 30 days, and an experienced AZ DUI defense attorney can help guide you on this), and, currently, a 12 month mandatory usage of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Remember, these are just the minimum Arizona DUI conviction penalties for a first-time Impaired to the Slightest Degree Charge, and the Court may order more. Also, the penalties for a second-time offense conviction are not the same, as they increase substantially.
If you are currently facing a DUI charge of any kind in Arizona, it is often best to contact an experienced Arizona DUI defense attorney to discuss your case and the potential consequences you may face if convicted.
Stay tuned for our next blog post, which will explain the minimum penalties for a conviction of a BAC above .08 Charge in Arizona.