Posted on October 31, 2011 in DUI Consequences
In our last post in this series, we discussed the minimum penalties for a conviction of a BAC Above .08 Charge in Arizona. Now, we will discuss the consequences for a conviction under A.R.S. Section 28-1382(A) – which is a charge for BAC Above .15 withintwo hours of driving. This charge is most commonly known as an Extreme DUI.
(For a complete discussion of an Extreme DUI charge in Arizona, see our previous post First Offense DUI- How Bad Can That Be? (Part 4 of 5)).
As we move up to a conviction for an Extreme DUI in Arizona, the minimum penalties also increase. The minimum penalties for a first time conviction are 30 days jail, none of which may be suspended by the Court, fines and fees totaling approximately $3,000.00 plus surcharges, alcohol screening and classes, a 90 day driver’s license suspension and 12months with the ignition interlock.
Again, these are just minimums for a first-time Extreme DUI conviction in Arizona, and the Court may order more. Further, the minimum penalties for a second offense conviction for an Extreme DUI in Arizona substantially increase (for example, the jail time alone increases to 120 days (4 months), none of which may be suspended).
If you are currently facing a DUI charge of any kind in Arizona, it is often best to contact an experienced Arizona DUI defense attorney to discuss your case and the potential consequences you may face if convicted.
Stay tuned for our next blog post, which will explain the minimum penalties for a conviction of a BAC Above .20 Charge (commonly known as an Super Extreme DUI) in Arizona.