Queen Creek Misdemeanor Attorney

It is a common misunderstanding that misdemeanor charges may seem like no big deal and should not be taken as seriously as other charges. However, getting a misdemeanor in Queen Creek can come with some serious and long-lasting penalties so it is important to retain the services of a skilled Queen Creek misdemeanor attorney as soon as possible following charges. For instance, Arizona does not currently have an expungement process to offer its citizens. This means that if convicted of any criminal charges, even a misdemeanor, this will remain on your criminal record forever. Arizona does have a set aside law that allows an individual to have the judgement of guilt entered against them set aside, this is Arizona’s version of record expungement.

For many, when facing misdemeanor charges, this will be their first encounter with the criminal justice system. Therefore, they may want to get the process over with as quickly as possible and just plead guilty. There are options when facing misdemeanor charges in Queen Creek, you can mitigate these cases to avoid harsh penalties and sometimes to the point of avoiding a conviction of these misdemeanor charges. That is why it is important to speak with a misdemeanor defense lawyer, who is experienced in working on misdemeanor charges out of Queen Creek. The attorneys at Rosenstein Law Group work on cases like these daily and they can ease the stress and time consumption of dealing with a misdemeanor charge. Our legal team is experienced and skilled in mitigation of misdemeanor charges out of Queen Creek and we have achieved many positive results including complete dismissal of these charges. Contact us online or call today at (480) 248-7666 to speak with a misdemeanor attorney to ease your concerns and provide proactive advice on your case today.

Penalties for Misdemeanors in Arizona

If misdemeanor charges are filed against you resulting from conduct that occurred in Queen Creek, you will go through the criminal justice system in the municipal court. Conversely, felony charges out of Queen Creek are generally prosecuted through the Maricopa County Superior Court. There are three classes of misdemeanor charges in Arizona. Each class of misdemeanor charge carries different maximum penalties if convicted. It is important to note that some misdemeanor crimes are not specified under a certain class, so they default to class 2 misdemeanor. Some of the maximum penalties you can face if convicted of a misdemeanor in Queen Creek are:

Class 1 Misdemeanor Maximums

  • 6 months jail
  • $2,500 fine (plus an 83% surcharge)
  • 3 years of probation

Class 2 Misdemeanor Maximums

  • 4 months in jail
  • $750 fine (plus an 83% surcharge)
  • 2 years of probation

Class 3 Misdemeanor Maximums

  • 1-month jail
  • $500 (plus 83% surcharge)
  • 1 year of probation

Types of Misdemeanor Charges We Defend Against

The most common misdemeanor charges our office defends out of Queen Creek is misdemeanor DUI charges. But we defend a wide range of misdemeanor charges, including but not limited, to:

A misdemeanor conviction on your record can leave a negative impact beyond a court’s sentence. Someone facing misdemeanor charges may just want to get the process of dealing with a misdemeanor charge out of Queen Creek quickly, and just plead guilty and deal with the penalties. By doing this, sometimes the negative impacts of this conviction on your record can be felt years later. This is why you should contact a Queen Creek misdemeanor attorney as soon as you are faced with a misdemeanor charge to limit the negative impact of these charges on your future. At Rosenstein Law Group, we offer in person appointments, along with phone and video initial consultations on your misdemeanor charge out of Queen Creek free of charge. Call to schedule your initial consultation today at (480) 248-7666.

Disorderly Conduct in Queen Creek

Disorderly conduct is an offense that is commonly referred to as “disturbing the peace.” This is a common charge in the case of public fights or arguments in Queen Creek, AZ. You may be charged with disorderly conduct in Queen Creek under the following circumstances:

If, with intent to disturb the peace or quiet of a neighborhood, family or person, or with knowledge of doing so, a person:

  1. Engages in fighting, violent, or seriously disruptive behavior
  2. Makes unreasonable noise
  3. Uses abusive or offensive language or gestures to any person present in a manner likely to provoke immediate physical retaliation by such person
  4. Makes any protracted commotion, utterance or display with the intent to prevent the transaction of the business of a lawful meeting, gathering or procession
  5. Refuses to obey a lawful order to disperse issued to maintain public safety in dangerous proximity to a fire, a hazard or any other emergency
  6. Recklessly handles, displays, or discharges a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument

Penalties for Disorderly Conduct

Most cases involving disorderly conduct are charged as a class 1 misdemeanor. In fact, of the six types of disorderly conduct above, only the last type (number 6) is considered a class 6 felony offense.

Punishment for disorderly conduct as a class 1 misdemeanor may include up to 180 in jail, 3 years of probation, and $2,500 fine plus surcharges.

If charged with disorderly conduct as a class 6 felony, the punishment may increase substantially. A class 6 felony commonly carries a penalty of 4 months to 2 years of prison, up to three years of probation, and a fine of up to $150,000 plus surcharges. However, in many cases a “dangerous” allegation is filed by the prosecutor. If convicted of disorderly conduct as a dangerous offense, a person is not eligible for probation and will face a mandatory prison term of 1.5 to 3 years.

Along with jail, prison, probation, and fines, a person convicted of disorderly conduct will have a permanent criminal conviction on their record. If convicted of a felony, a person will lose certain civil rights, including the right to possess a firearm, vote, hold public office, or serve on a jury.

What to Do if You’re Facing Disorderly Conduct Charges

As you can see, there are many different ways that a person can be charged with disorderly conduct in Queen Creek. Even though disorderly conduct or “disturbing the peace” may sound like a minor offense at first blush, it is still a criminal charge that can have severe penalties and lasting consequences that may affect your employment, housing, financial transactions, or professional licenses. If you have been charged with disorderly conduct, it is best to contact an experienced misdemeanor lawyer in Queen Creek that can make sure your rights are protected. With an aggressive defense, it may be possible to have charges reduced or dismissed altogether. Contact the Rosenstein Law Group at (480) 248-7666 or online to schedule a free consultation and case evaluation.

Trespassing Charges in Queen Creek

Trespassing is a commonly charged offense in Arizona that covers a wide variety of prohibited acts. The punishments can be rather severe, including a permanent criminal record ranging from a misdemeanor up to a felony. Given the wide range of penalties, if you are facing criminal trespassing charges in Queen Creek, AZ, it is best to speak with an experienced misdemeanor attorney to determine the correct course of action.

Types of Criminal Trespassing Charges

In Arizona, criminal trespass is divided into three categories:

Criminal Trespass in the First Degree

Criminal trespass in the first degree can range from a class 5 felony to a class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties for these offenses may include prison, jail, probation, and fines. There are six ways a person can be charged with criminal trespass:

  1. Class 6 felony: entering or remaining unlawfully in or on a residential structure (such as a house or apartment)
  2. Class 1 misdemeanor: entering or remaining unlawfully in a fenced residential yard
  3. Class 1 misdemeanor: entering any residential yard and, without lawful authority, looking into the residential structure thereon in reckless disregard of infringing on the inhabitant’s right of privacy
  4. Class 1 misdemeanor: entering unlawfully on real property that is subject to a valid mineral claim or lease with the intent to hold, work, take or explore for minerals on the claim or lease
  5. Class 6 felony: entering or remaining unlawfully on the property of another and burning, defacing, mutilating or otherwise desecrating a religious symbol or other religious property of another without the express permission of the owner of the property
  6. Class 5 felony: entering or remaining unlawfully in or on a critical public service facility

Criminal Trespass in the Second Degree

A person may be charged with criminal trespass in the second degree if they knowingly enter or remain unlawfully in or on any nonresidential structure or in any fenced commercial yard. This includes trespassing at retail establishments, fenced yards in industrial or business zoning areas, and other structures not used as a residence or lodging. Criminal trespass in the second degree is a class 2 misdemeanor, which may be punished by jail, probation, and fines.

Criminal Trespass in the Third Degree

The most common type of trespass in the third-degree charge occurs when someone enters or remains on a property after they have been asked to leave or when they have reasonable notice prohibiting their entry. If a person disobeys a no trespassing sign that is clearly visible, they may be charged with trespass in the third degree, a class 3 misdemeanor offense. Similarly, many trespassing charges stem from a person remaining at a property after a bar or restaurant’s security team or a police officer asks them to leave. This is typically charged as a class 3 misdemeanor, which may result in jail time, probation, and fines.

What to Do if You’re Facing Criminal Trespassing Charges

Trespassing charges can leave you with a permanent criminal record. You need an experienced and aggressive misdemeanor lawyer in Queen Creek that can challenge the prosecution’s evidence to obtain the best possible outcome. A smart defense may lead to a reduction in charges and penalties or even a complete dismissal. If you are charged with criminal trespassing, contact the team of aggressive and experienced attorneys at the Rosenstein Law Group at (480) 248-7666 or online to schedule a free consultation.

Criminal Damage Charges in Queen Creek

Criminal damage charges are commonly filed when a person recklessly damages another person’s property. Criminal damage charges can stem from items broken during a domestic dispute that turns physical, or damage to a person’s car or other property as a result of reckless driving behavior, such as driving under the influence of alcohol. Given the wide range of conduct that can be classified as criminal damage, such an offense can range from a class 2 misdemeanor to a class 4 felony.

What Constitutes Criminal Damage in Arizona?

In Arizona, there are six different ways that criminal damage can be charged:

  1. Recklessly defacing or damaging property of another person
  2. Recklessly tampering with property of another person so as substantially to impair its function or value
  3. Recklessly damaging property of a utility
  4. Recklessly parking any vehicle in such a manner as to deprive livestock of access to the only reasonably available water
  5. Recklessly drawing or inscribing a message, slogan, sign or symbol that is made on any public or private building, structure or surface, except the ground, and that is made without permission of the owner
  6. Intentionally tampering with utility property

The charges and the penalties you may face for criminal damage in Queen Creek vary depending on the severity of the offense and the dollar amount of damages.

  • Class 4 felony: recklessly damaging property of another in an amount of $10,000 or more
  • Class 4 felony: recklessly damaging the property of a utility in an amount of $5,000 or more or if the person intentionally tampers with utility property and the damage causes an imminent safety hazard to any person
  • Class 5 felony: recklessly damaging property of another in an amount of $2,000 or more but less than $10,000 or if the damage is inflicted to promote, further or assist any criminal street gang or criminal syndicate with the intent to intimidate
  • Class 6 felony: recklessly damaging property of another in an amount of $1,000 or more but less than $2,000
  • Class 1 misdemeanor: recklessly damaging property of another in an amount of more than $250 but less than $1,000
  • Class 2 misdemeanor: in all other cases not covered above

Penalties for Criminal Damage in Queen Creek

A conviction of a criminal damage offense can result in the following consequences:

  • Class 4 felony Criminal Damage charge: may face 1 to 3.75 years in prison, up to 4 years of probation, a maximum fine of $150,000 plus surcharges.
  • Class 5 felony Criminal Damage charge may include 6 months to 2.5 years in prison, up to 3 years of probation, and a maximum fine of $150,000 plus surcharges.
  • Class 6 felony Criminal Damage charge may include 4 months to 2 years in prison, up to 3 years of probation, and a maximum fine of $150,000 plus surcharges.
  • Class 1 misdemeanor conviction for Criminal Damage may lead to a maximum of 6 months in jail, up to 3 years of probation, and a fine of $2,500 plus surcharges.
  • Class 2 misdemeanor conviction for Criminal Damage may lead to a maximum of 4 months in jail, up to 2 years of probation, and a fine of $750 plus surcharges.

Any criminal damage conviction will lead to a permanent conviction on your record, which can lead to difficulties with background checks, employment, housing, professional licenses, and loans. Additionally, if convicted of a felony, a person will lose civil rights, including the right to possess a firearm, vote, run for public office, or serve on a jury.

Schedule a Free Consultation With a Queen Creek Misdemeanor Lawyer

If you are facing misdemeanor charges, whether that be disorderly conduct, trespassing, or criminal damage, in Queen Creek, AZ, the consequences of a conviction can be life-altering. Contact the Queen Creek misdemeanor attorneys at the Rosenstein Law Group at (480) 248-7666 or online for a free consultation and case evaluation.

COMPLETE THE FORM BELOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Practice Areas

COVID-19 ALERT: We are open & can be reached 24/7 to discuss your case with you. A quick & easy remote intake process with consults via phone or video now available. Call now or contact us online.