In Queen Creek, Arizona, you can face class 1 misdemeanor charges if you knowingly make a false statement, fraudulent or unfounded report, or misrepresent a fact to a law enforcement agency for the purpose of interfering with the orderly operation of a law enforcement agency or misleading a police officer. Essentially, if you lie to the police you may face criminal charges.
A false reporting charge may stem from a person giving the police a fake name, lying about their age to avoid a minor in possession of alcohol charge, or trying to fib their way through an investigation by giving police false or misleading information.
Penalties for False Reporting Charges in Arizona
False reporting to law enforcement can lead to penalties of up to 6 months in jail, 3 years of probation, and a $2500 fine. Additionally, false reporting is considered a crime involving dishonesty, so it may have lasting implications that affect a person’s career or immigration status.
Contact Rosenstein Law Group if You’ve Been Charged With False Reporting
The Rosenstein Law Group offers free consultations and preliminary case evaluations for false reporting charges. You need an aggressive attorney to help mitigate the potentially severe consequences of a criminal conviction for False Reporting. Contact us at (480) 248-7666 or online to schedule your free consultation today.
COVID-19 ALERT: We are open & can be reached 24/7 to discuss your case with you. A quick & easy remote intake process with consults via phone or video now available. Call now or contact us online.