Queen Creek Assault Defense Lawyer

Assault can be charged in a variety of circumstances. One thing is certain no matter what level of assault you are charged with, the penalties are severe and you should speak with a skilled Queen Creek assault lawyer immediately following charges. Assault charges are broken down into two categories simple assault (misdemeanor) and aggravated assault (felony).

Misdemeanor Simple Assault Charges

Misdemeanor assault charges can range from class 1 to class 3 misdemeanors. A person commits misdemeanor simple assault by:

  1. Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person
  2. Intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury
  3. Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult, or provoke such person

Notice that assault charges do not necessarily require physical contact; you can be charged with assault for merely placing someone in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury.

Penalties for Misdemeanor Simple Assault in Arizona

If convicted of a simple assault charge in Queen Creek, you may face the following penalties depending on the calls of the misdemeanor:

  • Class 1 misdemeanor assault: Up to 6 months of jail, 3 years of probation, and $2,500 fine
  • Class 2 misdemeanor assault: Up to 4 months of jail, 2 years of probation, and $750 fine
  • Class 3 misdemeanor assault: Up to 30 days of jail, 1 year of probation, and $500 fine

With such a wide range of conduct falling under the Arizona assault statutes and severe penalties, it is prudent to contact an experienced Queen Creek assault lawyer to help protect your rights and get you the best possible result. Contact the Rosenstein Law Group at (480) 248-7666 or online for a free initial consultation and case evaluation.

Queen Creek Aggravated Assault Charges

As the name implies, aggravated assault charges in Queen Creek are more serious in nature than simple assault. Aggravated assault can range from a class 6 felony to a class 2 felony. To charge aggravated assault in Queen Creek, a prosecutor must allege that a person committed a simple assault under any of the following circumstances:

  • Causing serious physical injury to another
  • Using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument
  • Using any means of force that causes temporary but substantial disfigurement, temporary but substantial loss or impairment of any body organ or part, or a fracture of any body part
  • While the victim is bound, otherwise physically restrained, or while the victim’s capacity to resist is substantially impaired
  • After entering the private home of another with the intent to commit the assault
  • If the person is 18 years of age or older and commits the assault on a minor under 15 years of age
  • If the person commits an Assault while in violation of an order of protection issued against them
  • If the person commits an Assault knowing or having reason to know the victim is part of a list of specified people/professions, including: a peace officer, constable, firefighter, EMT, paramedic, teacher, health care practitioner, prosecutor, code enforcement officer, park ranger, public defender, judicial officer, or other listed in A.R.S. § 13-1204(A)(8)
  • If the person takes or attempt to take control over a peace officer’s firearm or other weapon
  • If the person is subject to the custody of a jail, correctional facility, law enforcement agency (or other similar entity listed in A.R.S. § 13-1204(A)(10)) and commits an assault knowing or having reason to know that the victim is acting in an official capacity as an employee of the entity holding that person in custody
  • Using a simulated deadly weapon
  • Impeding the breathing or circulation of blood of another person by applying pressure to the throat or neck or by obstructing the nose and mouth either manually or through the use of an instrument and the person and victim have a relationship that falls under the category of domestic violence

Contact a Queen Creek Assault Attorney if You’re Facing Charges

The prosecutors in Arizona do not take assault cases lightly; they are prosecuted to the full extent of the law. If charged with aggravated assault, you could be facing significant prison time. With the wide range of possible conduct and penalties covered by the assault laws in Arizona, it is best to contact an experienced assault defense lawyer that can advise you based on the specifics of your case. When your liberty is at stake, you need an attorney that will fight to protect your rights. Contact the Rosenstein Law Group at (480) 248-7666 or online to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation.

COMPLETE THE FORM BELOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

  • All fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Practice Areas

COVID-19 ALERT: We are open & can be reached 24/7 to discuss your case with you. A quick & easy remote intake process with consults via phone or video now available. Call now or contact us online.