Menu FREE Consult Request
DUI and Criminal Law Specialists
${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Available to help 24/7
480-248-7666
Where were you arrested? A DUI is a state offense, but each jurisdiction handles them slightly differently.

Arizona's complicated tiered DUI system

Arizona has some of the toughest DUI penalties in the country. The state uses a four-tier system for classifying DUI penalties.

Tier one: Standard DUI

In Arizona, you are considered legally impaired if your BAC is .08. However, if you are underage, the BAC limit is zero. You are charged with a standard DUI if your BAC is .08, or if you are a minor, and your BAC is .08 or lower. If convicted, you face not less than 10 days in jail and fines of no less than $1,250. You also will be required to complete alcohol education classes, do community service and install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

Tier two: Extreme DUI

If your BAC is .15 or slightly higher, you are charged with extreme DUI. If convicted, you are sentenced to at least 30 days in jail and are fined no less than $2,500. You will also have to complete alcohol education, perform community service and have an ignition interlock device added to your vehicle.

Tier three: Super extreme DUI

Anyone pulled over with a BAC of .20 or higher is charged with super extreme DUI. This is the charge player Lee is facing. A conviction means 45 days in jail and increased fines. You will be required to have ignition interlock device for at least 18 months. If you are from out-of-state, a super extreme DUI charge also means you may have a harder time getting a plea deal and could end up going to trial.

Priors- It is important to note that if you have a DUI conviction within 84 months the penalties of Tiers 1-3 go up considerably.

Tier four: Aggravated DUI

There are several ways to get charged with an aggravated DUI. You may face aggravated DUI charges, if:

• You receive a DUI while your license is suspended or revoked

• It is your third DUI in 84 months

• There is someone under the age of 15 in the vehicle with you

• There is an ignition interlock device in your vehicle or you were supposed to have one

Get the right DUI attorney, right now

An aggravated DUI conviction means a presumptive two and a half years in prison, fines of at least $4,000 and loss of your license for a long time. You also must complete alcohol education, community service and will have to add an ignition interlock device to your vehicle.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
We play an active role in the civic life of the Phoenix metropolitan area.
We support Scottsdale's Taste of the Town festival that benefits the local chapter of the Muscular Dystrophy Association as well as the annual Toys for Tots campaign. Our firm also contributes to a number of other local organizations, including Home 'Fur' Good, a nonprofit dedicated to eliminating the euthanasia of adoptable homeless cats and dogs in Maricopa County.
Rosenstein Law Group Best Lawyers 2020 Avvo Rating 10.0 Superb Top Attorney DUI Super Lawyers Arizona Trial Lawyers Association Attorney At Law Magazine Contributing Editor Arizona Attorneys For Criminal Justice Established 1986

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

When you need effective, strategic defense, contact us 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 480-248-7666. We are ready and waiting for your call.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

Submitting your information to us through this web form does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Information submitted through this web form is not confidential, not subject to attorney-client privilege, and will not preclude this law firm from representing a different client in the same legal matter. We do not represent you until you meet with us and sign a fee agreement. Please do not send us any confidential information about your case until we meet.

close

Privacy Policy

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer FREE Consult Request