Menu FREE Consult Request
Board Certified DUI Attorney
${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Available to help 24/7
480-248-7666
Where were you arrested? A DUI is a state offense, but each jurisdiction handles them slightly differently.

DUI consequences for healthcare workers

In Arizona, licensed Health Care workers have a duty to report a misdemeanor DUI arrest within ten days of the date of arrest. This presents some difficult problems for health care workers. First, it not only applies to doctors and nurses, but in Arizona this law applies to dental hygienists, veterinary technicians, athletic trainers, massage therapists, pharmacy technicians, respiratory therapists and dozens of others.

Even if the arrest does not result in a conviction, most Arizona health care licensing boards will start an investigation while the DUI is still pending in court. The health care worker is usually asked to send the Board the police reports, and meet with them. The Boards have the power to take an individual's medical license away, although it rarely happens for first offense misdemeanor DUI. They can take force an individual to get a substance abuse evaluation. Additionally, they can place an individual on probation. Some of the factors the board will examine are:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you were charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers

    What does the Arizona Board of Nursing say?

    According to the Arizona State Board of Nursing website, the duty to report includes mandatory report (or self-reporting) of any conduct that involves:

    • Criminal charges, including misdemeanor or felony DUI, within 10 days of formal charges
    • Felony conviction, within 10 days
    • Misuse of alcohol or dependency on unprescribed chemical substances that may be detrimental to the safe performance of nursing responsibilities

It is essential for an individual with an Arizona Health Care provider licenses to act quickly and seek legal assistance with these complicated matters. If you find yourself facing charges related to DUI, you should seek out an experience criminal defense attorney and a professional license defense attorney. In addressing such cases, it is important to be proactive, and to know your rights, obligations and responsibilities as they apply to your duty to disclose an arrest or conviction, and how to defend against a licensing agency that seeks to inquiry about, or discipline a license based upon, a DUI.

In Arizona, licensed Health Care workers have a duty to report a misdemeanor DUI arrest within ten days of the date of arrest. This presents some difficult problems for health care workers. First, it not only applies to doctors and nurses, but in Arizona this law applies to dental hygienists, veterinary technicians, athletic trainers, massage therapists, pharmacy technicians, respiratory therapists and dozens of others.

Even if the arrest does not result in a conviction, most Arizona health care licensing boards will start an investigation while the DUI is still pending in court. The health care worker is usually asked to send the Board the police reports, and meet with them. The Boards have the power to take an individual's medical license away, although it rarely happens for first offense misdemeanor DUI. They can take force an individual to get a substance abuse evaluation. Additionally, they can place an individual on probation. Some of the factors the board will examine are:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you were charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers

    What does the Arizona Board of Nursing say?

    According to the Arizona State Board of Nursing website, the duty to report includes mandatory report (or self-reporting) of any conduct that involves:

    • Criminal charges, including misdemeanor or felony DUI, within 10 days of formal charges
    • Felony conviction, within 10 days
    • Misuse of alcohol or dependency on unprescribed chemical substances that may be detrimental to the safe performance of nursing responsibilities

It is essential for an individual with an Arizona Health Care provider licenses to act quickly and seek legal assistance with these complicated matters. If you find yourself facing charges related to DUI, you should seek out an experience criminal defense attorney and a professional license defense attorney. In addressing such cases, it is important to be proactive, and to know your rights, obligations and responsibilities as they apply to your duty to disclose an arrest or conviction, and how to defend against a licensing agency that seeks to inquiry about, or discipline a license based upon, a DUI.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
We play an active role in the civic life of the Phoenix metropolitan area.
We support Scottsdale's Taste of the Town festival that benefits the local chapter of the Muscular Dystrophy Association as well as the annual Toys for Tots campaign. Our firm also contributes to a number of other local organizations, including Home 'Fur' Good, a nonprofit dedicated to eliminating the euthanasia of adoptable homeless cats and dogs in Maricopa County.
AACJ Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice Avvo Rating 10.0 Superb Top Attorney DUI Super Lawyers Arizona Trial Lawyers Association Attorney At Law Magazine Contributing Editor Arizona Attorneys For Criminal Justice Established 1986

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

When you need effective, strategic defense, contact us 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 480-248-7666. We are ready and waiting for your call.

Bold labels are required.

Please note that First AND/OR Last Name, and Email AND/OR Phone are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer FREE Consult Request