Menu FREE Consult Request
DUI and Criminal Law Specialists
${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Available to help 24/7
480-248-7666
Where were you arrested? A DUI is a state offense, but each jurisdiction handles them slightly differently.

Leaving the Scene of a DUI Accident in Arizona

You face harsh penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) in Arizona. Leaving the scene of a DUI only complicates the circumstances. Whether you caused the accident or were involved in the incident, by law, you are required to stop and failing to do so can result in a felony arrest.

Failure to stop and remain at the site is a violation of several Arizona Statutes, including §28-661, §28-662 and §28-663, all applying to alcohol and drug screening to determine the level of conviction with the crime. Primarily the first two statutes focus on the failure to stop, damages to the vehicles and the severity of any injuries or death. The last one is about information requested by the arriving officer and assistance to the injured parties involved in the accident.

Consequences of leaving the scene of the accident

The significance of leaving the scene is contingent on the facts and the situation, with the severity of the accident used to determine the level of charges.

• Class 3 misdemeanors involve damage to an unoccupied vehicle, street fixture or private property.

• Class 2 misdemeanors involve damage of an occupied vehicle with no injuries.

• Class 5 felony accident charges involve injuries.

• Class 3 felony accident charges involve serious injury or death.

• Class 2 felony accident charges - you caused serious injury or death.

Multiple charges related with DUI accidents resulting in injury or death

It is a fact. DUI drivers are not responsible for all vehicle accidents with serious injury or deaths. However, if a law enforcement officer believes intoxication was a factor, by law, the driver is subject to testing, if the officer had probably cause. Arizona Statute §28-662 is an implied consent. After a lawful arrest, blood, breath and urine testing are mandated. Depending on the results of the tests, a DUI and hit-and-run conviction if you left the scene may result in jail or prison sentencing. The final sentencing will include all of the charges consecutively stacked on top of each other. You will need to complete any jail or prison sentence before other penalties or suspensions are enforced.

• Accidents resulting in serious injuries suspend your license for 5 years.

• Accidents with deaths suspend your license for 10 years.

Separate charges involving no injury, only property damage

Property damages are separate misdemeanor crimes. It is a crime to leave the scene after damaging a parked or unoccupied vehicle. The person causing the damage must notify the owner or leave information related to the accident with the vehicle. Failure to do so, may result in violations of statutes §28-664 or §28-665 with charges of a Class 3 misdemeanor.

• A moving vehicle with no injuries is a Class 2 misdemeanor under §28-662.

Conclusion

Failure to comprehend is not excusable in a court of law, but rarely is anything in life black and white. That is why if you are contacted by law enforcement regarding one of these charges, it is best to not discuss anything with them and immediately contact an attorney to discuss your rights and obligations. Penalties and sentencing of multiple or repeat offensives influence the outcome. Consequences include license revocation, fines and imprisonment. In all cases, as mentioned in prior discussions, you have the right to a defense in a court of law.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
We play an active role in the civic life of the Phoenix metropolitan area.
We support Scottsdale's Taste of the Town festival that benefits the local chapter of the Muscular Dystrophy Association as well as the annual Toys for Tots campaign. Our firm also contributes to a number of other local organizations, including Home 'Fur' Good, a nonprofit dedicated to eliminating the euthanasia of adoptable homeless cats and dogs in Maricopa County.
Rosenstein Law Group Best Lawyers 2020 Avvo Rating 10.0 Superb Top Attorney DUI Super Lawyers Arizona Trial Lawyers Association Attorney At Law Magazine Contributing Editor Arizona Attorneys For Criminal Justice Established 1986

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

When you need effective, strategic defense, contact us 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 480-248-7666. We are ready and waiting for your call.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

Submitting your information to us through this web form does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Information submitted through this web form is not confidential, not subject to attorney-client privilege, and will not preclude this law firm from representing a different client in the same legal matter. We do not represent you until you meet with us and sign a fee agreement. Please do not send us any confidential information about your case until we meet.

close

Privacy Policy

Free Consultation With A Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer FREE Consult Request