Labor Day weekend is a great time to soak up the last days of summer with friends, family, food, and fun. It's also important to remember to celebrate safely and responsibly. Last year, there were 10 deaths from 10 traffic collisions during the holiday weekend. The Arizona Department of Public Safety is working hard this year to stop dangerous driving behaviors and increase road safety.
When officers in Arizona stop a motorist that they suspect is under the influence of alcohol, they perform an investigation to uncover as much evidence as possible to support an arrest. Once arrested, the officer will want to conduct a test that helps establish the individual's blood-alcohol content (BAC).
In Arizona, your driving record and any citations may affect your ability to maintain a license and drive without restriction. Moving violations in a car have associated points depending on the severity of the offense. Any DUI related conviction carries eight points and if you accumulate thirteen or more points within a twelve month period of time, your license will be suspended. Other offenses, such as speeding, carry two or three points and you may be eligible for Defensive Driving School to clear your record.
The City of Rialto, California recently reported that after they required police officers to wear cameras on duty, citizen complaints dropped by 88 percent in the first year. This idea has created a sparking debate across the country, and recently the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) endorsed the idea. The ACLU also emphasized the potential for the technology to be misused and recommended policies to minimize the potential downsides. "Although we generally take a dim view of the proliferation of surveillance cameras in American life, police on-body cameras are different because of their potential to serve as a check against the abuse of power by police officers," the civil liberties group argues.
Think you can't be charged with a DUI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is below .08? Think again, pursuant to A.R.S 13-1381, the State can charge a regular, non-extreme DUI two separate ways. The first way is if your BAC is above a .08, or the alternative way is if you were impaired to the slightest degree by alcohol or drugs, you can be convicted of a DUI.
On Wednesday June 25th, 2014, the Supreme Court ruled that police must obtain a search warrant in order to gather information from a suspect's cell phone. This ruling was passed in order to protect American's privacy rights in the digital age.
Many diabetics often experience low blood sugar levels, also known as hypoglycemia. When a diabetic person reaches such a state they can show symptoms commonly associated with an intoxicated driver. For example, they may have slurred speech, poor balance, may appear drowsy, and have impaired motor abilities. As you can imagine being pulled over by a police officer while experiencing these symptoms will most likely lead to failed field sobriety tests.
Last Friday started Arizona's state wide crackdown on DUI enforcement for the Memorial Day weekend. This crackdown was yet another attempt to enforce Arizona's already strict drinking and driving laws, and to prevent injuries and fatalities due to automobile accidents.
Already take a plea? And now you want to know if you can back out of it even though the 90 day time window to request relief has already passed? Is there anything you can do?
The United States Supreme Court recently issued another blow to the 4th Amendment, which protects against unreasonable search and seizures. The ruling caused controversy when they declared that a vehicle may be stopped based on an anonymous 911 tip.